RIYL: Bob’s Burgers, H. Jon Benjamin’s voice

Label: Sub Pop

Before you have a crap attack about another money-grabbing soundtrack release on vinyl, read on and you’ll be happy to see that the team behind The Bob’s Burgers Music Album seem to have put care and effort into cooking up a unique box set for Belcher family fanatics. As even casual watchers of the hit animated series know, original music is integral to its comedic voice. From Gene’s Casio jingles to the montage-background-music parodies to full-blown musical episodes, the show has become known for working in fun and comedic tunes sung by the cast wherever they see fit. This marks the first time music from the series gets a standalone release: 107 songs from the first 107 episodes.

As previously mentioned, it’s nice to see that there was more effort involved than solely swapping in colored wax for the deluxe version, making it a fun collectors’ item for the cross section of Bob’s Burgers and vinyl fanatics. In Teddy’s animated unboxing video below, you can see the deluxe box set with “‘condiment-colored’ (ketchup red, mustard yellow, and relish green)” wax is expected to include a sheet music book, hardcover lyrics book, illustrated fold out prints, a patch, and stickers.

Both the standard and deluxe 3×LP versions include a “Bob’s Buskers” 7″ with five previously unreleased cover versions of songs from the show by artists including St. Vincent and The National.

p.s. Do you think they made it $69 on purpose?

The Details

Bob’s Burgers premiered on the Fox network January 2011, and quickly became one of the most watched series on television. After enjoying the highest-rated new season premiere of the 2010-11 season, Bob’s Burgers quickly settled into an average viewership of over 4 million per episode. The show has won an Emmy award and been nominated five times, including a current nomination for Outstanding Animated Program. It has inspired many popular spinoff items, including a recent, best-selling cookbook. With the seventh season set to premiere this fall, Bob’s Burgers’ cultural influence only grows.

Now comes The Bob’s Burgers Music Album, featuring 107 songs from the first 107 episodes (all six existing seasons), plus five special cover versions of songs from the show. Originally broadcast within the episodes – and often in abbreviated form – these songs appear here in their freestanding glory for the first time. The Bob’s Burgers Music Album – in both its affordable standard editions and its impressive deluxe edition – is sure to be a top gift item this holiday season.

• The album features the main cast members – Bob (Jon Benjamin) and Linda (John Roberts) and their children Tina (Dan Mintz), Gene (Eugene Mirman) and Louise (Kristen Schaal) – singing original songs that build on the show’s unique sense of humor.

• Also featured are many of the show’s recurring and special guests, from comedians like Aziz Ansari, Sarah Silverman, Kevin Kline, Paul Rudd, Bill Hader, Zack Galifianakis, and Fred Armisen, to musical guests Cyndi Lauper and Carly Simon.

• Includes five never-aired “Bob’s Buskers” cover versions of songs from the show performed by St. Vincent, the National, Lapsley, and Stephin Merritt of Magnetic Fields.

• Three standard versions: 2xCD set, 3xLP+7”, and digital.

• Deluxe limited-edition 3 LP+7” box set includes “condiment-colored” vinyl (ketchup red, mustard yellow & relish green), plus a hardbound lyrics book with exclusive Bob’s Burgers artwork, a soft cover sheet-music songbook, three original posters, a six-piece sticker pack, and a patch. Both the standard and deluxe LP editions include the five “Bob’s Buskers” tracks on a white 7” single.

Additional Images

Price $69

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive