RIYL: Speedy Ortiz, Angel Olsen, Belly

Label: Merge

Similar to Angel Olsen, it’s been a joy to watch Waxahatchee frontwoman Katie Crutchfield¬†evolve her sound from album to album. ¬†2012’s American Weekend was a¬†sparse, folkier project, miles away from the styles she adopted on the richer studio cuts from 2013’s¬†Cerulean Salt and the fuzzier, rockier¬†Ivy Tripp in 2015. ¬†Their common denominator is the simple purity of Crutchfield’s voice and her deeply personal¬†lyrical treatment. ¬†I always heard a 90s influence buried in the layers similar to the playful delivery from That Dog’s Rachel Haden or The Breeders’ Kim Deal.

Silver, her newest single off forthcoming full-length Out in the Storm, makes use of Katie’s knack for building singalong choruses and sunny harmonies out of particularly melancholy subject matter. ¬†I can see this one aging as well as Belly’s Feed the Tree, one of those instaclassic tunes that you can’t help but shout along with in your car. ¬†Laughing bystanders be damned.

The deluxe package comes with a cloudy white vinyl LP of all of her demos from the album, so be sure to hop over to Merge’s online store to secure your copy. ¬†For all ye¬†superfans, there’s a deluxier edition that comes with a set of postcards and a CD for $10 more and, of course, black vinyl is also available if Uncle Sam taxed most of your checking account away.

The Details

Deluxe 2-LP (Limited edition)
- album on black vinyl
- exclusive bonus LP of demo versions of the entire album on cloud white vinyl
- 12" √ó 24" poster of Katie Crutchfield
- gatefold jacket with full lyrics and silver foil details
- full download of album and demo versions

Additional Images

Price $28.98

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive