RIYL: Fleet Foxes, Local Natives

Label: Secret City

Love me some soulful Leif songs. Just the sound of the piano when it comes in takes me back to road trips with my family and some Don Henley coming on the cassette player.

But yeah I’m sucker for this sound, give me all of it all the time. If you’re new to Leif, please take the time and settle your anxious soul for a bit, it’ll do ya good.

The Details

1. The Way That You Feel
2. Never Be Back
3. Hot Tears
4. Transatlantic Flight
5. Phaedrus
6. Blood Brother
7. Change
8. I'm Not Your Lover
9. Wait A While
10. Apalachee Plain
New Ways is the sound of desire in its unfolding — whereas Twin Solitude was about self-reflection, New Ways is about engaging and changing, touching and being touched. It’s a physical record, with louder and tighter grooves, and the rawest lyrics the musician has ever recorded—tenderness and violence, sex and rebirth, Plato and Julie Delpy. There’s the heat of the night and the cool blue of morning, hints of Prince and Bill Withers.

LPX = Opaque Beige 12” Limited Edition Deluxe Vinyl w/ printed inner sleeve with lyrics. Digital download included

CD = 4 panels digipak with clear tray. Poster with lyrics and artwork included

POSTER = Limited Edition Numbered Exclusive Artwork by Olivia Baldwin

7” VINYL = Limited Edition Numbered 7” vinyl incl. “Hot Tears” single from new album + “Tallahassee” single, released physically for the first time

Price $26

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive