RIYL: Big Thief

Label: Saddle Creek

I have absolutely loved the last couple Big Thief releases and can’t wait to hear what lead singer Adrianne has up her sleeve on this release. Most likely brutally honest, empathetic folk tracks that make me feel feelings pretty hard.

Great looking wax as well, and it’s Saddle Creek, so you know it’ll be nothing but quality.

The Details

This is a pre-order item. All items ordered alongside a physical pre-order will ship together to arrive on or before the release date, October 5th, 2018. You will receive an instant download of the track "cradle" upon purchase. Full album download available on release date.

Saddle Creek Store Exclusive :
Limited edition of 500 black and cloudy-clear color-in-color vinyl. Limit 2 per customer.

Indie Store Exclusive:
Limited edition of 500 glow-in-the-dark vinyl. Available on October 5th at participating independent record stores.


Lyric insert
Includes download card
2018 solo album from Big Thief’s Adrianne Lenker

Adrianne Lenker has been writing songs since she was 10 years old. Her "back story" has been well documented in various interviews and profiles for Big Thief over the last 3 years. Despite, or more likely because of the constant touring and studio work, the last few years have been some of the most prolific for Lenker as a writer. Songs pop out at soundcheck. They pop out on late night drives between cities. They pop out in green rooms, hotel stairwells, gardens, and kitchens around the world.

In the hands of Lenker songwriting is not an old dead craft. It is alive. It is vital. With little regard for standard album cycle practice or the idea of resting at all, Lenker set out to make a document. Songs can be slippery and following 2+ years on the road with Big Thief, Lenker felt a growing need to document this particular time in her life in an intimate, immediate way. The result is her new album, abysskiss , out October 5th via Saddle Creek.

"I want to archive the songs in their original forms every few years," explains Lenker. "My first solo record I made was Hours Were the Birds . I had just turned 21 and moved to New York City where I was sleeping in a warehouse, working in a restaurant and photographing pigeons. Now five years later, another skin is being shed."

Following a two week road trip through the southwestern United States, Lenker headed into the studio with longtime friend Luke Temple. Temple put on his loosely fitting, bright orange, 100% wool producer hat and for one week they made music. The songs chosen for this collection were the songs that felt the most alive in the room. These are not castaways or B-sides. Some of these songs have been alive for years while some were written just days before the session. Some will appear in differ ent future forms, some will not. The thread that connects these songs is not something that can easily be put down in words. Intuition connects these songs. They are a record of a time.

With this collection, Lenker further illuminates to the listening public what those close to her already know; here we have a songwriter of the highest order, following her voice and the greater Voices that pass through her with an unflinching openness and clarity of translation.

Release Date: October 5th, 2018.

1. terminal paradise
2. from
3. womb
4. out of your mind
5. cradle
6. symbol
7. blue and red horses
8. abyss kiss
9. what can you say
10. 10 miles

Price $22

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive