RIYL: Mojave 3, Ride, Lush

Label: Dead Oceans

First, Ride announces their first album in 21 years, and not even a week later, Slowdive follows suit with their first official release since 1995’s Pygmalion.  If My Bloody Valentine surprises us with another full-length, the world might implode.  These are exciting times for any fan of shoegaze, dream pop or the UK sound of the 1990s.

Their newest single Sugar for the Pill is a gorgeous reverb-laden ballad with hints of that dreamy psychedelic haze that Slowdive perfected over 25 years ago.  It’s an instabuy of the highest calibur, but keep in mind that Dead Oceans knows this, and the only way you’re going to be able to acquire the silver vinyl variant through them is by grabbing their bundle.  You’ll get a t-shirt, a slipmat, some enamel badges and, of course, a handy dandy CD to throw into that portable discman that’s been collecting dust in your attic.  If there ever was an album to bring that puppy back into the world, this would be it.  Listen to the new tracks below and grab a bundle after the ‘buy’ link.

If you JUST want the silver vinyl without the other stuff, grab it from Amoeba Records HERE.  UK folks, grab the bundle HERE.

The Details

'Slowdive' limited-edition preorder bundle includes:
1. 'Slowdive' on limited edition silver vinyl & CD
2. Slowdive T-Shirt
3. Slowdive slipmat (you will receive ONLY 1 of the 2 designs)
4. Two Slowdive enamel badges
5. Digital download code for the album (as a .zip file containing 320kbps mp3s) redeemable on release day

Price $49.99

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive