RIYL: Mitski, Field Mouse, Wildhoney, Beach House

Label: Polyvinyl Records


…[W]hile Duterte’s early stuff found her bucking against life’s lows, Everybody Works is about turning that angst into fuel for forging ahead. “Last time I was angry at the world,” she says. “This is a note to myself: everybody’s trying their best on their own set of problems and goals. We’re all working for something.”

Everybody Works was made in three furious, caffeinated weeks in October. She came home from the road, moved into a new apartment, set up her bedroom studio (with room for a bed this time) and dove in. Duterte even ditched most of her demos, writing half the LP on the spot and making lushly composed pieces like “Lipstick Stains” all the more impressive. While the guitar-grinding Jay Som we first fell in love with still reigns on shoegazey shredders like “1 Billion Dogs” and in the melodic distortions of “Take It,” we also get the sublimely spacious synth-pop beauty of “Remain,” and the luxe, proggy funk of “One More Time, Please.”

Duterte’s production approach was inspired by the complexity of Tame Impala, the simplicity of Yo La Tengo, and the messiness of Pixies. … “Her E•MO•TION album actually inspired a lot of the sounds on Everybody Works.”

There’s story in the sounds—even in the fact that Duterte’s voice is more present than before. As for the lyrics, our host leaves the meaning to us. So if we can interpret, there’s a bit about the aspirational and fleeting nature of love in the opener, and the oddity of turning your art into job on the titular track. There’s even one tune, “The Bus Song,” that seems to be written as a dialog between two kids, although it plays like vintage Broken Social Scene and likely has more to do with yearning for things out of reach.


  • 1. Lipstick Stains (1:52)
  • 2. The Bus Song (3:37)
  • 3. Remain (2:19)
  • 4. 1 Billion Dogs (2:44)
  • 5. One More Time, Please (3:42)
  • 6. Baybee (3:45)
  • 7. (BedHead) (3:26)
  • 8. Take It (3:20)
  • 9. Everybody Works (3:29)
  • 10. For Light (7:23)

The Details

180-Gram Orange/Cyan Starburst
Limited to 300.
First Pressing.
Mailorder Exclusive.
LP Includes 18"x24" poster.

Releases March 10th, 2017

All formats include instant download of "The Bus Song." Full album download (MP3 and WAV) available 3/3/17.
Pre-orders will ship on 03/01/2017

Additional Images

Price $19

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive