Pre-orders are now up for Flyying Colours debut on vinyl.  This 5 track EP is pressed in a total of 500 copies on 180g vinyl, divided into 250 Black Grape and 250 Royal Blue. The Black Grape will be released for the US market by Shelflife on the 11th of March, while the Royal Blue is for the UK, released by Club AC30 on the 10th.

Melbourne’s Flyying Colours deliver a strong package with this EP. There’s clear traces of a lot of the originators of the genre in here, and they deliver it with class. High quality shoegaze!¬† I’ve included a wider description in the details underneath from Shelflife’s website.

Note! The “BUY NOW” button reflects the Black Grape US-version, so if you are in Europe (or if you prefer the blue one), you need to go through here (fixed link) ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬†

The Details

Release date: March 11, 2014
Catalogue number: LIFE107
Pressing: limited edition 12": 500 copies worldwide on 180 gram vinyl. 250 on black grape for the US and 250 on royal blue for the UK.
Artwork by: Thom Russell

1. Like You Said
2. Wavygravy
3. She Leaves
4. Feathers
5. Bugs

Shelflife presents the US release of Melbourne shoegaze/psych outfit Flyying Colours self-titled 5-track EP coming March 11 on limited 12" vinyl.

True to their name, Flyying Colours unashamedly display their influences in this debut: tone bending MBV/Swervedriver guitars, Ride's bass hooks and the familiar soft hush of early 90s male/female vocals. Add to that their own edgy, refreshing pop-mindedness and it makes for five completely brilliant tracks.

The EP includes pile-driving single "Wavygravy", a layered noise anthem jumped on by national radio and the international shoegaze blogosphere on its Oz release last April. Other stand out tracks are psych-rock opener "Like You Said", "Feathers" with its chorus-y jangle and lush vocals and the cool-down of closing track "Bugs."

Formed in 2011, Flyying Colours is Brodie J Br√ľmmer (vox/Guitar), Gemma O'Connor (vox/Guitar) and the drums & bass of brothers Sam and Joshua Dawes. Before "Wavygravy" they received a lot of attention for their explosive live shows, setting them well apart from others occupying Melbourne's growing 90s/shoegaze scene. Flyying Colours have just completed an Australian tour and are currently recording tracks for their debut album.

Flyying Colours EP is a co-release with Club AC30 in the UK in a limited edition of 500 180 gram 12" copies worldwide with mp3 download. There will be unique colored vinyl per label -- 250 copies on black grape for the US and 250 on royal blue for the UK.

For fans of: Ride, Teenage Fanclub, Swervedriver, Dinosaur Jr., My Bloody Valentine, Pale Saints, The Lilys

Price $13

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive