Next month, The Men will release an all-acoustic 5-song EP which they recorded around a campfire while the band was holed up in a house in upstate New York. The album Campfire Songs will feature acoustic versions of “I Saw Her Face,” “The Seeds,” and “Water Babies,” as well as two new songs: “Turn Your Color” and “Patience”.

This special edition release of  200 hand-numbered copies in deluxe packaging, with silk-screened on wood is available by mail order only, and is due out October 15 via Sacred Bones.

The Details

While holed-up in a house in upstate NY, The Men took full advantage of their rural surroundings, in-house studio, and lack of recording timelines and obligations. They tracked over twenty-five songs. On top of that they also managed to record five songs acoustically, while sitting around a campfire outside the house. Vinyl version comes with a 12-page photo book 11.5-inch × 11.5-inch insert featuring never before seen black & white photographs shot by their bassist/photographer Kevin Faulkner during the Big Indian sessions.

Campfire Songs is the band’s second release this year, and their fifth in the past four years. To say this band is prolific is an understatement; they are teeming, borderline prodigal even. Two of these acoustic jams are alternate takes from the album, “I Saw Her Face” and “The Seeds.” The plugged-in version of “Water Babies” appeared on the b-side of their 7-inch from January, “Patience” and “Turn Your Color” are two entirely new beautiful tracks that highlight this band’s ability to be as gentle as they are commanding.

Price $20

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive