RIYL: Ryan Adams, Shearwater, Jim James

Label: Dead Oceans

From Philly by way of Indiana, Strand of Oaks has bared its soul for the world for over a decade.  Leave Ruin debuted in 2009, showcasing Tim Showalter’s knack for bleeding heart folk music, but over the years, he’s carved out a unique notch between alt-country and no-frills rock and roll.  Similar to artists like Phosphorescent, Shearwater and The War on Drugs, Showalter has recently started incorporating more lush synth layers into his canvas of Americana.  Mixed with his deeply personal, autobiographical lyrical treatment, Strand of Oaks songs sound immediately timeless.  These kinds of bands don’t fall into genres or decade cliches easily, so call it what you want as long as you precede it with ‘damn good’.

Dead Oceans has a limited ‘stoner swirl’ vinyl bundle that comes with a drug/coin purse keychain, a copy of the CD and a one-sided flexi with the track Chill Tent.  If you’re a member of Secretly Society Club, you’ll be able to get that album on pink vinyl, but it won’t come with the extras.  If you want more info on Secretly Society, go HERE.

The Details

Hard Love Deluxe Bundle
1. Hard Love on limited edition green and white ’Stoner Swirl' LP
2. Limited edition one-sided flexi 7" - ‘Chill Tent'
3. Hard Love on CD
4. Drug Coin Purse Keychain
4. Poster featuring album artwork
5. Instant download of “Radio Kids"
6. Digital download code for the album (as a .zip file containing 320kbps mp3s) redeemable Feb 3rd, 2017, 2 weeks before release date

Price $27.99

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive