J Dilla is making some serious waves pressing all these great old recordings, RIP. I’m really feeling this single from 2001. Makes me sad we didn’t get more music from him, but so it goes. All procedes go to the j Dilla Foundation.

The Details

A1. Anthem feat. Frank N Dank 2.50
A2. Anthem (Instrumental) 2.50
A3. Anthem (A Cappella) 2.49

B1. Trucks 3.49
B2. Trucks (Instrumental) 3.49
B3. Trucks (Dilla’s Original Mix) 4.15

Label: Pay Jay
Format: 12-inch clear vinyl, printed sleeve, plastic sleeve.
Pre-order. Expected ship date: April 15

“Anthem” and “Trucks” were two of the songs J Dilla recorded in late 2001 and early 2002 as he put the finishing touches on what was supposed to be an album featuring his raps over production by the likes of Madlib, Pete Rock, Nottz, House Shoes, Karriem Riggins and others. These two tracks, however, were produced by Dilla himself.

Read the album announcement:
J Dilla vocal album THE DIARY planned for release on Pay Jay

These tracks come straight from multi-track masters found on 2-inch tape shortly after Dilla’s passing in 2006. These songs have been mixed by engineer Dave Cooley, who worked extensively with Dilla during his years in Los Angeles. Using Dilla’s original demo mixes as his guide, Cooley attempted to finalize Dilla’s vision for these tracks, while keeping all of the elements that Dilla had in place in his original demos present.

Rounding out this 12” is Dilla’s original mix of “Trucks” discovered as a two-track demo mix. We’ve included this mix as it features an alternate version of Dilla’s vocals and a third verse not found on Dilla’s final sessions for this song.

Price $13

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive