This is some great ghosty female vocals, perfect for ushering in the cool fall evenings. Makes me want to get a fire going and pour up some cider. mmmmm.

Shane gave us a whole mess of solid info, so we’ll just post that up.

Cross Record — Be Good
12″ LP, 150 gram white vinyl, with poster insert
Jacket photograph by Shane Lavalette
Released August 2012
Edition of 300

Weaving in and out of melody and discord, Cross Record’s first full-length LP Be Good leaves the listener trembling. A myriad of sounds — strings, clarinet, flute, steel drum, bells, tape distortion, and other instrumentation — support Emily Cross’ enchanting vocals, which are so captivating that the silences are like black holes. Her raw, unadorned sound, perhaps most akin to young Cat Power or Jana Hunter, is a breath of fresh air. Like her music, Cross’ lyrics are striking in their simplicity, conjuring a dark beauty that is delicately realized by a musician beyond her years.


1. Watching Something Nice
2. Little Orange
3. Cups in the Sink
4. Maybe I’m Crazy
5. Dirt Nap
6. Skins of Fishes
7. Hungry, Thirsty
8. Not Quite White Light
9. Be Good

[sws_green_box box_size=”80%”] Thanks so much to Shane Lavalette, who tipped us off on this release by Submitting News. You are truly awesome. [/sws_green_box]

Price – $25

Watch on Vimeo

Listen on BandCamp

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive