NOTE: The 100 on Translucent Pilsner w/ Opaque Mint Green Splatter is now SOLD OUT while the 100 on Translucent Green w/ Gold Splatter is nearly sold out!!

The Sheath is BACK AT IT AGAIN!!!!!

If you caught our past posts for such bands as Caspian, Dust Moth, If These Trees Could Talk, or even ÆGES… then you know exactly what to expect from this label!

Today, The Mylene Sheath has released pre-orders for ÆGES latest record, Above & Down Below. ÆGES is a Los Angeles-based band consisting of Kemble Walters (The Rise, Juliette and the Licks), Tony Baumeister (16, Cutthroats 9), Mike Land (Unwritten Law) and Cory Clark (Sleepless Me). Each of these guys have a musical background that differs from one another but it’s their collective love for heavy melodic rock that’s influenced them to produce music together under the moniker ÆGES. With the reception this record has already received today… I’d advise not sleeping on this one if you’re interested!!

Although the band self-produced this release, they’ve got some notable names supporting the creation of this release to include mixing and mastering by Matt Hyde (Deftones, Slayer, Children of Bodom, Behemoth) as well as art direction, design and layout by Casey Howard (Mastodon, Deftones, The Mars Volta, Avenged Sevenfold).

Give these tracks a listen down below and be sure to check out the rest of what’s available via that Buy Now link!! You won’t be disappointed.

The Details

Aeges - Above & Down Below LP


Pressing Info:
- 25 test presses w/stenciled jackets, hand-numbered
- 100 translucent pilsner w/opaque mint green splatter
- 100 translucent green w/gold splatter
- 300 translucent pilsner & opaque gold swirl w/bronze splatter

"Aeges second full length album, Above & Down Below, sees them galloping confidently over any notion of a sophomore slump. The band has taken another step forward with this collection of twelve songs that are as diverse and individual as they are seamless and flowing. It's an especially admirable feat when you consider how busy the band has stayed since releasing their debut full length, The Bridge, in 2012 (which Ghettoblaster Magazine called "one of the most promising debuts in recent memory"). They've effortlessly endured a couple different line-up changes that introduced guitarist/vocalist Cory Clark and drummer Mike Land. The revamped line-up, rounded out by founding member Kemble Walters (vocals/guitar) and Tony Baumeister (bass), was solidified in late 2013 when they began writing the songs that would become Above & Down Below. In between playing shows around the country with Coheed & Cambria, Silver Snakes, Pelican, Big Business and many more bands, as well as writing the new record, and dealing with the line-up changes, the band also found time to further expand their catalog by releasing the Southern Comfort 7" as well as the Bad Blood split 7" with label mates Dust Moth (in which former guitarist Mark Holcomb currently plays). They also made a successful inaugural appearance at the annual SXSW Music Festival this past March, and will be heading out hard in support of the new album this fall.

Perhaps because of this steady flow of activity, the songs on Above & Down Below are extremely tight and focused, while being played with a loose confidence and swagger that oozes the spirit of rock and roll. Expanding upon the foundation of the sound that already drew influence from the 90's post-hardcore era, the new record mixes that same heavy edge of Quicksand with the more melodic heavy rock sheen of Soundgarden, Alice In Chains and Queens of the Stone Age. At times it's as heavy as lead, crushing and lurching hard, while other times it's melodic and hook-laden; usually you'll find this contrast within the same song, which is busy making itself quite at home in your head.

The album was mixed and mastered by Matt Hyde (Deftones, Slayer, Children of Bodom, Behemoth) at his home studio. The band self-produced the effort and Kemble recorded it at The Sound Portal. Casey Howard (Mastodon, Deftones, The Mars Volta, Avenged Sevenfold) handled the art direction, design and layout for the album. The Mylene Sheath (Pelican, Caspian, Junius, Dust Moth) will be releasing the album worldwide on September 23rd."

Limited to:
- 25 test presses
- 100 translucent pilsner w/mint green splatter
- 100 translucent green w/gold splatter
- 300 translucent pilsner & opaque gold swirl w/bronze splatter

Artwork Design: Casey Howard
Vinyl Manufacturer: Pirates Press

Price $14.99

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive