RIYL: your R&B mixed with a lot of other genres

Label: Local Action

Dawn Richard got a TON of praise last year, including nabbing the number one spot on FACT Mag’s 50 best albums of 2015 with her sophomore effort, Blackheart. Other publications include Pitchfork, Rolling Stone, Vogue, The Rap Up, Noisey (the VICE subsidiary) and Popmatters. Richard’s new single, “Not Above That,” is produced by Machinedrum which explains the tightly knit, chaotic, bombastic production. “Not Above That” has R&B at the soul of it (no pun intended) but numerous layers are put on top of that that are reminiscent of hip-hop, EDM, and juke/footwork. This isn’t your normal “indie fare,” but if nothing else, this is just a fine piece of well-produced pop/R&B/whatever you want to call this thing. On the B-side, producer Deadboy gives his toned-down take of the fiery single. Not much like this comes through here at Sly, so check it out. Listen to Not Above That below via the Bandcamp player and see what you think of it. Cheers!

The Details

D∆WN's 'Not Above That' - finally coming out on limited vinyl, backed with a jaw-dropping Deadboy remix.

Download on iTunes: smarturl.it/NATRMX
Stream the original, produced by Machinedrum: www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDdPZr2OVP4

Catch D∆WN killing it at SXSW next week:

March 16 - Surefire Live @ The North Door
March 17 - Hype Hotel x Tiny Mixtapes
March 17 - FACT @ Empire Control Room
March 18 - SPIN @ Stubb's
March 18 - Pitchfork @ Barracuda


Praise for D∆WN:

• “A stunning personal statement” – Best Albums of 2015, Pitchfork
• “When will the world be ready for Dawn Richard?” – Best R&B of 2015, Rolling Stone
• “Like nothing else” – #1 Album of 2015, FACT
• “Deserved sales and critical praise” – Best Albums of 2015, Vogue
• “The most ambitious and revelatory album of the year” – The Guardian
• “Takes her creativity to the next level” – Best Albums of 2015, Rap Up
• “One of the most explosively inventive electronic albums” – Noisey
• “She has created a singularity” – #1 Electronic Album of 2015, Popmatters
released March 9, 2016

Price $12.74

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive