RIYL: Lee Fields, Sharon Jones, Leon Bridges

Label: Daptone Records

Just over a year ago, we lost one of this decade’s most unique talents, vocally and musically.  The sui generis of soul, Charles Bradley waited a long time before he got the spotlight, but we’re all grateful that we were around for it.  Lucky for us, he left more incredible music to he explored after his untimely death.  Aptly titled Black Velvet, Daptone Records is proud to present Charles Bradley’s final album.  If newest single I Feel A Change is any indication, it’s going to be another gorgeous record.  You know it, I know it.

Daptone has a limited quad-color vinyl variant as well as a super deluxe boxset.  Listen to I Feel a Change below and grab your vinyl of choice (or both) after the ‘buy’ link.

The Details

Black Velvet Limited Color LP (Quad Black & Purple Vinyl - 1 Per Person)

Black Velvet Deluxe Box
- "Even More Black Velvet" Bonus 12" EP of 4 stripped-down mixes & a message from Charles.
- Full color photo book, featuring extended liner notes by producer Tommy “TNT” Brenneck.
- “Black Velvet” Slipmat.
- Inner sleeves featuring a painting of Charles riding a horse through the sky! As well as the surreal story that inspired it, transcribed in Charles’ own words.
- Charles’ original “Black Velvit” business card.
- Seeded MP3 download card, can be planted to grow Wildflowers in Charles’ memory. Green thumb not included. (1 Per Person)

Additional Images

Price $20.99

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive