Punk lives.  Since its embryonic stages in New York, Detroit and the sewers of every struggling metropolis in the 1960s to its rise in the 1970s in the snotty flats of the United Kingdom to its mainstream explosion in the 80s and 90s…punk rock has survived through the decades and journeyed across every ocean.  And just when you think that it’s finally breathed its last breath…you get a shining glimpse that reminds you of punk’s insurmountable durability.  Meet Belözoğlu, Baştürk and Ergün of Hakan, 3 pissed off pranksters from Istanbul.

Hakan’s brand of punk pumps out the same pummeling power that the 70s juggernauts did in the bowery of CBGBs and the streets of London and Manchester.  Every “1-2-3-4”, every souped up surf riff and every snarling chorus line throws me back to the classic years.  The Ramones, The Buzzcocks, The Undertones and all of the punk bands that gave the underdogs of the world a shred of hope to stand on…their spirits live on this record.  Are they reinventing the wheel?  Of course not, but if it ain’t broke, leave it the hell alone.

300 copies of Hakan’s debut full-length are available after the ‘buy’ link.

The Details

Limited Edition of 300 (Digital download included)

Includes unlimited streaming of OCW012 - Hakan 'Self Titled' via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
Ships out within 3 days
Edition of 300

Price $11

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive