As you may have read in music news this year Nick Allbrook split from Tame Impala to tend to his band Pond, which actually started around the same time as Tame Impala. Think of Pond as Tame Impala’s cacophonous cousin – the bands have also shared/share Tame Impala’s Cam Avery and Kevin Parker. With only three consistent members, Pond’s revolving doors allow new elements to be brought in to the framework and to churn out more material than normal when compared to “stagnant” rosters (this is their fifth album in their five year existence). “Xanman” and “Giant Tortoise,” the only two singles available from the album right now, showcase relentless rock and noise infused with psychedelia. Hobo Rocket will be available August 5th, and you can listen to both available songs below on Spotify. See what you think of them! Cheers!

The Details

Perth, Australia-based rock freaks POND today announce their fifth album, Hobo Rocket, to be released worldwide this August on Modular Recordings.

Hobo Rocket is the fifth LP from Perth, Australia based five-piece POND. Made up of Nick Allbrook, Jay Watson, Cam Avery, Joseph Ryan and Jamie Terry, the band set out to make a record that captures a portion of rock music's great, decadent history through a personal lens. Known for their brutally raucous live shows, POND have captured that intensity on record, cramming as much loose, live emotion into a 40 minute album as possible.


1. Whatever Happened To The Million Head Collide
2. Xanman
3. O Dharma
4. Aloneaflameaflower
5. Giant Tortoise
6. Hobo Rocket
7. Midnight Mass (At The Market Street Payphone)

Price $25

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive