The title of this post is definitely daunting. A lot of variants and what the heck do those names mean? Well, don’t worry, those details are spelled out in the details below and we’ve got the photos from out friends at Spartan Records to share with ya!

Some of you may remember when we first posted about this band back in 2013. We’ve actually posted about their first release, Binary Opposition, quite a few times. That album saw some pressings prior too, and with, Spartan Records. It’s been quiet on the Shy, Low front since we had last posted about them but here we are now with not only a new 6-track album, but plenty of gorgeous variants as well!

Check out the released single, Nostos, down below and be sure to check out the major selection of variants Spartan Records has made available!

Oh, and by the way, every pre-order comes with a custom Shy, Low watercolor set! That’s a new one!!

• “Hallie Rose” (Coke Bottle Green / Bone Swirl with Purple, Oxblood, Blue, Baby Pink Splatter) (100)
• “Foxglove” (Oxblood in Bone Color In Color) (150)
• “Bell Heather” (Milky Clear and Baby Pink Swirl) (150)
• “Snowdon Lily” (White with Yellow Haze with Purple Splatter) (100)



The Details

Shy, Low - "Hiraeth" SPAR029

Hiraeth: a word without a concrete English translation. While evading an unequivocal definition, it exudes melancholy. Those who have attempted to define it describe the word as a mixture of homesickness, nostalgia, grief, and longing. It is the oppressive guilt associated with memories now passed; the bitter remembrance of joyous occasions that can never be revisited. It is also the title of Shy, Low’s upcoming full-length album, due November 13th on Spartan Records. Just like the word Hiraeth itself, Shy, Low’s continual evolution make them a band that is not easy to define. While it would be convenient to corral the band into the bucket of canonical post-rock bands like Mono, Mogwai, and This Will Destroy You, on Hiraeth, Shy, Low’s eclectic palate of musical influences are showcased more broadly than ever before. The band earnestly sifts through the complex relationship between music, art, and the emotions that encapsulate the human experience — and in doing so, they’ve successfully created a brilliantly moving, yet strangely bittersweet 43 minute aural journey.

1. Nostos
2. Saudade
3. Anomic
4. Hiraeth
5. Algos
6. Times Gone By

Pressing Information:

First pressing limited to 500 copies:

• "Hallie Rose" (Coke Bottle Green / Bone Swirl with Purple, Oxblood, Blue, Baby Pink Splatter) (100)
• "Foxglove" (Oxblood in Bone Color In Color) (150)
• "Bell Heather" (Milky Clear and Baby Pink Swirl) (150)
• "Snowdon Lily" (White with Yellow Haze with Purple Splatter) (100)

Full color jacket printed on reverseboard stock with printed uncoated insert.

This is a pre-order. All orders come with an instant download of the song "Nostos" and a high-quality download of the Hiraeth on November 13th. All vinyl pre-orders include a custom Shy, Low watercolor set.

Price $19.99

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive