RIYL: Yaeji, FKA Twigs, AĂŻsha Devi

Label: XL Recordings

Catharina Stoltenberg & Henriette Motzfeldt make up the Norwegian experimental pop duo Smerz, wielders of alien grooves and glitchy synthscapes for dance floors of the future. They’ve been slowly trickling out singles and EPs since 2016 but are finally ready to unleash their debut full-length. Titled Believer, the process of writing the record took over two years and followed a parallel trek to their own lives as they faced new challenges, as we all did, early last year. The duo takes electronic exploration to new heights, combining the warmth of delicate string instrumentation with the icy caverns of vast synth layers. Their ethereal vocal treatment is the icing on the cake here, truly a group with intentions to shove electronic music to higher plains and new genres.

XL Recordings has a mere 300 copies of the album on glow-in-the-dark wax that you can grab from Bleep after the ‘buy’ link. Shipping is pricier for the statesiders since these are shipping from the UK. There’s also a clear vinyl variant in the UK that you can grab HERE, but no quantity has been mentioned for it. If and when other colorways pop up, we’ll link them here.



The Details

Vinyl, 1Ă—LP
Glow in the dark vinyl

- Bleep exclusive
- Limited to 300
- Gatefold sleeve
- Clear inner bag
- Translucent obi-strip
- Liner notes insert

Additional Images

Price $27.99

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive