Retro-rock, garage-pop, NorCal doo-wop… whatever it’s called, Oakland trio Shannon and the Clams has it, and they’re back with more.

Their fourth LP, Gone by the Dawn, is set to release on September 11th via Hardly Art Records. The colored variant vinyl is limited to the first pressing.

Check out the details and their first single below.

Shannon and the Clams, photo courtesy of Hardly Art and Nadia Lee Cohen.

Shannon and the Clams. Photo by Nadia Lee Cohen.

The Details

01. I Will Miss the Jasmine
02. My Man
03. Point of Being Right
04. How Long?
05. Baby Blue
06. It's too Late
07. Gone by the Dawn
08. Corvette
09. Telling Myself
10. The Bog
11. Knock 'em Dead
12. The Burl
13. You Let Me Rust

Gone by the Dawn, the newest Shannon and the Clams album, is their best work to date. The music is complex, the lyrical content is emotionally raw and honest, and the production is the strangest it’s ever been. The album was written as one member was recovering from a serious breakup and another was deep in one. The lyrics reflect it, and the entire album is dripping with sadness, pain, and introspection. Gone by the Dawn was recorded at Tiny Telephone in San Francisco and produced by Sonny Smith.

First press of LPs available on limited colored vinyl (likely half cream / half green, though subject to change). All LPs include a download code of the full album.

Catalog #: HAR-090
Release date: September 11, 2015

Price $15

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive