RIYL: James Blake, Her, How To Dress Well

Label: Loma Vista Recordings

The smooth voice and sensual prowess of Rhyes has transcended the atmosphere and landed on his new EP, Spirit. When you listen to the single “Needed” you see the modern day Marvin Gaye asking the question, “what does it mean to feel wanted?” Rhye, moniker for Mike Milosh states:

“the sound of Spirit was born out of falling in love with playing the piano again. About a year and a half ago, my girlfriend surprised me with a borrowed piano. It wasn’t in the best shape, but it made itself at home in my apartment and I started playing it every morning… just messing around at first, but it slowly became a morning ritual I couldn’t shake.

My morning piano ritual met my new piano in my favorite studio. I made a rule for myself that I would start something brand new every day, work on that for 2 hours without judgement and just see what I came up with. Out of the many sketches, Spirit started to take shape: a collection of songs that I did alone in the studio with just a piano, intertwined with collaborations with some of my favorite piano-based musicians. These are songs about love in my life, but also about the love for piano brought back into my life.”

This limited edition is available just about everywhere, but you can grab it on Baby Pink either at the buy now link, or on Amazon here.

The Details


This is a pre-order and is expected to ship on or around June 28.

Full album will be delivered via email upon purchase.

Limited Edition Pink Colored Vinyl

1. Dark 1:27
2. Needed 5:18
3. Malibu Nights 1:55
4. Patience 4:14
5. Green Eyes 2:18
6. Wicked Dreams 4:31
7. Awake 3:44
8. Save Me 4:11

Additional Images

Price $17

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive