Moonface is back with a new EP, continuing his theme of stripped down and bare piano-driven songs that you found on Julia With Blue Jeans On. As you’ve found (or may find) this approach is highly atypical to his past work in Wolf Parade, Sunset Rubdown, and Swan Lake and his past Moonface releases. Spencer Krug doesn’t exactly reinvent the wheel with this formula, but you know what they say – “don’t fix it if it ain’t broke.”

Krug has a voice that is unforgettable, whether you like it or not – if you hear it once, you’ll be able to pick it out with ease when you’re at a loud, hip, restaurant (or bar) or if somebody includes it in their warm-up soundtrack prior to going on stage. City Wrecker doesn’t appear to be re-releasing any songs, so you’re definitely going to get your money’s worth if you buy this. I emailed Paper Bag and Brooke Morgan kindly (and quickly!) replied to me, informing me that Paper Bag has exclusive distribution of this clear edition – Secretly Canadian/Jagjaguwar is getting the standard black version. Listen to and watch the “City Wrecker” music video below and see what you think of it. Cheers!

The Details


Only 300 available!

A note from Moonface's Spencer Krug:

Hello everyone and anyone.
I recently made some more recordings under the name Moonface, which take the form of a 5 song EP called City Wrecker, and run at around half an hour.

City Wrecker is the title track of the ep. I wrote it before Miley Cyrus released "Wrecking Ball", but I cannot prove it. Oh well. In describing the song (and maybe the whole EP) I would say it's the aesthetic opposite of "Wrecking Ball" by Miley Cyrus, which is not to say that's a good thing or a bad thing, just an apple for you to hold up beside your orange. Regardless of all that, my friend Eetu, who recorded this EP, still likes to call the song "Wrecking Ball" and to sometimes call me Miley, but that's okay cuz we're buddies.

I lived in Finland for a couple of years, but now I live in a little town nestled in the woods of Vancouver Island. This is a recent move, and so City Wrecker represents the last album I completed in Helsinki. Maybe I will go back to that big icy lighthouse, and all the lovely weirdos within I have come to love, one day, but for now I have used it up.

I have a tendency to wreck the places I live. I am a luster scraper; a green grass imaginer. I wreck places emotionally, as in, even though they stay the same objectively, they somehow worsen in my heart. I wreck their meaning, and so ultimately their function. No more crackling inspiration. I waste my own time. I get bored. I turn gardens into dust bowls.

And I am a city wrecker not just for myself, but for those close to me as well, for my wrecking is a quiet and creeping poison that is hard to identify; hard to see coming through my mist of moods. I fuss, and then still am dissatisfied, making my loved ones feel sad and helpless, angry and confused, and perhaps most terribly, responsible. Though of course they are blameIess and magnificent.

I suppose this is why I have moved so many times in my life. It is not a good characteristic, and one I should work toward eradicating from my personality. But having regret is also unhealthy. So, I am Popeye?

Anyway, all of the songs on this ep, in one way or another, are about places. Going in and going out. Regret and hope. The past and the future. Ducking out early from your own farewell party. That's why it's called City Wrecker.

1. The Fog
2. City Wrecker
3. Running in Place with Everyone
4. Helsinki Winter 2013
5. Daughter of a Dove

Price $16.99

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive