The earlier you pre-order, the rarer the color that you will receive. This is what they’re saying about the variants here. I’ve e-mailed to get further information on that and will certainly get that news up on this post the moment I know more!!

Either way, this is a great release! Max Stern and his acoustic guitar, solid. With folky and poppy sonic endeavors throughout, Aging Truths comes to a beautiful fruition with all of the support and help from Max’s brother Jake and the plethora of friends!

The information below is plentiful, so I’ll cut it short and say: GIVE IT A LISTEN!!

The Details

Aging Truths
by Meridian
Aging Truths cover art

Digital Album
Immediate download of 10-track album in your choice of high-quality MP3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire.

Limited Edition Compact Disc
2-panel full-length CD version of "Aging Truths". Comes shrink-wrapped and with a handwritten love poem or something equally as strange.

The end goal is to self-release this record on vinyl. Buying a CD helps with that!

Includes immediate download of 10-track album in your choice of high-quality MP3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire.
Buy Now $8 USD or more
ships out within 7 days
edition of 100

1. When I See You 01:22
2. Love & A Sense Of Belonging 02:28
3. The Catalyst 04:10
4. I Will Learn 03:56
5. What We've Built 03:36
6. Prosthetic Hand 02:49
7. Wait, Move 03:19
8. Commuters 03:24
9. When You See Me 01:27
10 .Six Blocks 04:26

I've spent the majority of my musical lifetime playing in punk rock bands, and continue to do so to this day. The songs that comprise this record didn't fit in anything else I had going, so other than occasional living-room solo acoustic shows, they didn't exist anywhere except in the form of tinny laptop-microphone demos. After several years of resolving (and then failing) to make a real record every few months, I finally managed to get it together in March of 2012.

"Aging Truths" is a collection of songs that were written from 2008-2011. Most of these songs were initially recorded on an internal laptop microphone perched on a beer-stained table in a cold Cleveland Heights apartment throughout that four-year period. These demo versions of various songs are still floating around online and can be found pretty easily, though I won't link them here because I'm semi-embarrassed of them (and these versions sound about 1000x better).

Initially, 12 songs were tracked at Bad Racket Recording Studio in Ohio City, using an acoustic guitar and an in-ear metronome (which bleeds through on a few songs, keep an ear out for it). One of those songs was scrapped before it got any further. On top of those initial acoustic skeleton tracks, Jake, Steve and I added drums, bass, electric guitar, banjo, keys, piano and whatever else we could find to the other 11, 10 of which ended up making the record.

Vocals were another story altogether. A month prior to recording, I had a pretty serious surgical procedure done, a process which resulted in a gnarly post-surgery sinus infection. When the time came to track vocals, I still really hadn't healed completely...but there were only two days left, and things had to get done. Through what had to have been hundreds of takes, we managed to clip together an album's worth of vocals. Moral of the story: don't get otolaryngological surgery and expect to be a songbird four weeks later.

Some mixing took place at Bad Racket, but mostly in San Francisco, California on Adam's home setup. This was the last record he tracked before he moved out west and I'm so glad to have been able to work with him once more before he took off. Adam, you are a gentleman and a scholar with a golden set of ears.

Huge thanks go out to:

- My brother Jake Stern for agreeing to be part of this project from the get-go. I look forward to making more music with him in the future.

- Adam Wagner for being endlessly patient and dedicated to making my songs sound far better than they actually are

- Steve Gibson for providing a rhythm section that brought some of these songs to life

- Adam Boose for the lighting-fast, kick-ass mastering job

That's the story. This is "Aging Truths". It's free. Go download it, or buy it if you want to. Thanks for listening. -max
released 25 September 2012
Max Stern - vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, banjo, bass, keys, percussion
Jake Stern - vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo, piano
Steve Gibson - drums, bass

Recorded by Adam Wagner, March 11-14, 2012 at Bad Racket Recording Studio in Cleveland, OH

Mixed by Adam Wagner, March-September 2012 in Cleveland, OH and San Francisco, CA

Mastered by Adam Boose at Cauliflower Audio in Cleveland, OH

Price $13

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive