RIYL: Julien Baker, Tinpan Orange, singer songwriters

Label: Jealous Butcher

Last year’s album, Empire Builder, from Laura Gibson was an excellent collection which tastily combined her moody and atmospheric sound into well crafted folk-pop.

Definitely one of my favorite 2016 albums, and these two tracks are from the same session.

Limited to only 300 copies on seafoam green and for only $6 it’s hard to pass up.

I couldn’t locate audio for either track so instead I added a track from Empire Builder below.

The Details

** This 7" is limited to 300 copies, all on a glorious translucent sea foam vinyl and come with a digital download of the tracks. Preorders will ship in time to arrive by the release date of April 14th. **

Laura Gibson shares two new songs in a limited edition seven-inch from Jealous Butcher. A beat-driven pop number The Easy Way, and a slow-burning meditation on aloneness called Animals. Both songs were recorded while making her lauded 2016 Barsuk Records release, Empire Builder, and feature the found-sound percussion loops of drummer Daniel Hunt (Neko Case), gorgeous violin-work by Peter Broderick, and the ambient textures of guitarist Dave Depper (Death Cab for Cutie). According to Gibson, “These songs didn't quite fit into the puzzle I was putting together in Empire Builder, but they were just as meaningful to me, I wanted to get them out into the world.”

Price $6

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive