Zoo Music lo-fi rockers Crocodiles will be releasing their fourth album Crimes of Passion August 19th. “Cockroach” is the first single from the album and if I can call it this, it sounds… clearer than the band’s previous works. Perhaps the band decided to upgrade the production for this time around? For the three minutes that “Cockroach” lasts, it throws a droning electric organ and a hefty bunch of distorted guitars in to your face, along with Brandon Welchez’s distinct reminiscence of an ex-… somebody, or maybe just an enemy of his. There’s a verse where Welchez talks about he/she/it “chewing through my walls just to lay eggs in my brain.” Talk about imagery. Maybe it’s just because I’m used to songs that go in to the double digits, but “Cockroach” seems to end right before any resolve is met within the song’s structure. That sticker, though, is intriguing. If you notice, instead of a “D” in their name it’s a “C.” I wonder if that’s an intentional error, they’re too lazy to fix it or if that will get corrected by the time they run them out to the public? I’ll leave you with “Cockroach” below via YouTube, so you can see what you think of it. Cheers!

The Details

"Overseen by Sune Rose Wagner of The Raveonettes, all the songs are so instant that it makes the album something of an onslaught on the senses. It’s a mix of simple melody that wouldn’t have been out of place on the jukebox of a 50s diner, combined with pro-tool tech and a fuzzbox - a perfectly consummated marriage of British indie and Californian vibes." - The Quietus


01. I Like It In The Dark
02. Marquis De Sade
03. Cockroach
04. Heavy Metal Clouds
05. Teardrop Guitar
06. She Splits Me Up
07. Me and My Machine Gun
08. Gimme Some Annihilation
09. Virgin
10. Un Chant D'Amour

Price $23

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive