It should come as no surprise to anyone that the smooth, honest, and poppy sounds of Cartel have continued to be one of my guilty pleasures. As their first release, the album “Ransom” (never before released on vinyl) showed the world the soaring melodic style and honest writing that forced The Militia Group to pick them up as quickly as possible. The album still holds up with time, and is definitely worth a listen, even if the beautiful realm of Fall Out Boy-esque isn’t your style.

The Details

The Ransom EP features some of the band's most honest and pure material, representing the cornerstone of their ten year career (and counting) . Since the release of The Ransom by The Militia Group in 2004, Cartel has released four full length albums and toured all corners of the globe. Commenting on the band's growth after the release of The Ransom, singer Will Pugh said, "it was that youthful exuberance that spawned the most exciting period of our career".

Most recently, Cartel self-released their fourth studio album Collider, proving that the momentum that The Ransom started has yet to come to a halt.

This limited vinyl pressing features:

- Custom envelope style jacket with full EP lyrics printing on the inside
- 45 RPM 12" record on splatter, money green, or clear vinyl
- Printed insert with message from Will Pugh thanking fans for their continued support
- Outer plastic sleeves stamped with Company Ink wax seal

Price $18

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive