RIYL: Dungen / Life On Earth! / Our Solar System / Still Parade / Tame Impala / Pond / GUM

Label: Lazy Octopus Records

AOP is the latest project from Swedish psych-connoisseurs Mattias Gustafsson (Dungen/Life On Earth!/Our Solar System) and Martin Fogelström (Life On Earth!/Our Solar System).  As the name suggests, this is indeed a quite pop-oriented (adult at that) effort, but there’s certainly a good dose of psych involved as well. More synth-laden than their other projects, I often find myself drawing comparisons to post-Innerspeaker era Tame Impala (or Pond and GUM for that matter), but even more to the sounds of Niklas Kramer AKA Still Parade. Much like the latter, AOP’s sound relies heavily on the breezy side of production, while the arrangements are built on groovy bass and snappy drums beneath a veil of noise (soothing synths and hazy vibes). The tracks in here are definitely on the clever side of pop, and these tunes shine brighter with every spin!

Swedish label Lazy Octopus Records has pressed the very limited number of 200 Vinyl Records for this one, so be sure to tune in and grab one while available!

The Details

Limited Edition 12" Vinyl. 200 copies.
Black vinyl, 140 gram. White inner sleeve.

1. A New Beginning
2. No Need To Talk
3. Retox Weekend
4. Make It With You
5. It Will Never Happen
6. Traces
7. Look At Us
8. It's OK Baby

Additional Images

Price $21.5

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive