UPDATE: SOLD OUT!  You can however still get the black Lucky Number-pressing through his Bandcamp HERE, about 150 copies left of this as I type!

Repost from a write-up we did last year for an earlier pressing;

This one…   This might be the best bedroom pop/ lo-fi indie I’ve heard in a long time. Pure quality! This guy is only 21 years old (probably 22 by now), but has released a tremendous amount of tunes, and from what I’ve managed to listen to so far there’s no skipping-material in here AT ALL!   With little or less promotion through 3-4 years of putting out his stuff through his Bandcamp directly from his laptop, he is has now suddenly become a name on a lot of lips.  He won The Deli Philly’s Best Emerging Artists of 2013 Readers’/Fans’ Poll back in february last year (make that 2 years..), and I dare to say we will hear a lot more from this fella from here on out.  DSU is his first material put out on vinyl, originally released via Brooklyn-based Orchid Tapes on the 17th of June (2014).   Also take a look at the goodies you’ll recieve along with the album, a total high five-package!

NOTE! This is the Red Vinyl Tour Edition, pressed in 100 copies only through Orchid Tapes! There are in total other 4 pressings of this album, 3 via Orchid Tapes (which all sold out within an extremely short amount of time) and one UK-pressing via Lucky Number Records. The latter still available via Bandcamp and the label.

Check out Alex G’s Bandcamp with tons of tracks HERE



The Details


DSU is Alex G's first full length release with Orchid Tapes and his first full length on vinyl. Currently limited to 100 copies of blood red vinyl, shipping close to the 3rd week of May.

1. After Ur Gone
2. Serpent is Lord
3. Harvey
4. Rejoyce
5. Black Hair
6. Skipper
7. Axesteel
8. Sorry
9. Promise
10. Icehead
11. Hollow
12. Tripper
13. Boy

• First pressing imited to 125 kelly green & 125 deep purple records (both translucent). Every 50th record sold in through the first pressing will include one of 5 test-pressing of the record.

• Second pressing limited to 250 doublemint green and deep purple coloured vinyl, pressed together in a single record.

• Third pressing limited to 300 grimace purple (opaque) and kelly green (transparent) coloured vinyl, pressed together in a single record.

Each order will include:

• DSU 12" vinyl
• A thank-you note + Orchid Tapes sticker
• A hand-pressed Alex G button
• A logo-stamped oolong or jasmine tea bag
• Guava candy
• Endless love from your friends here at Orchid Tapes :+)

Thank you so much for your love and support, we wouldn't be able to do the things we do without it.

Thanks to Lightning James Fast for the tip!

Price $20

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive