RIYL: Antibalas, Budos Band, Lucky Chops, Kamasi Washington, Femi Kuti, funky horns, and African rhythms

Label: Colemine Records

Hard Steppin’ is funky, velvety smooth, horn-based instrumental built on African rhythms.  It’s the kind of music that makes you move.  The 2009 album is being released on vinyl for the first time by Colemine Records, run by the guys who own my local shop in Cincinnati (Plaid Room Records). Show you support and snag this tasty wax for yourself or a music lover on your holiday gift list.

The Details

RELEASE DATE: 11/25/2016
UPC: 659123068512
FORMAT: 12" EP with download card

Ikebe Shakedown’s debut release is as heavy as an angry herd of elephants! Recorded at Dunham Studios in Brooklyn with the help of members of The Budos Band, these tracks are rough and tough to be sure and offer a variety of different sounds from the band. Ikebe seamlessly blends the raw emotion and passion of ‘70s African Funk with the danceable horns and rhythms of American soul music.

This EP was originally released on CD in 2009 but is now available as an 12" vinyl release with a bonus B-side full of breakbeats from the recording session.

1. Hard Steppin’
2. The Prisoner
3. No Answer
4. Afro Fred
5. Up In The Trees
6. Hard Steppin’ (Breakbeats)
7. The Prisoner (Breakbeats)
8. No Answer (Breakbeats)
9. Afro Fred (Breakbeats)
10. Up In The Trees (Breakbeats)

Price $19.99

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive