UPDATE (3/12/14): Black & Gold A Side/B Side is now SOLD OUT. A second pressing is now available on Gold vinyl through the Buy Now link below.

The latest from our buddies over at Joyful Noise Recordings is a uniquely special one!

Comprised of Joe Plummer (Modest Mouse, The Shins), Dale Crover (The Melvins, Nirvana), and Coady Willis (Big Business), this album sees fruition as an “all drumming project.”

As the attached quote from Joe Plummer mentions, this project comes about from the influence of Max Roach’s piece, entitled M’Boom, which inspired this percussion-based recording.

There is no media to coincide with the pre-orders for this but the full album should be available for streaming within the next week, as confirmed by JNR.

The one, and perhaps only, pressing is hand-numbered and comes on Black & Gold A Side/B Side colored vinyl. (More photos below)

To hold you over, I’ve added the album that inspired this release – Max Roach’s M’Boom. I’ll be sure to update this post the moment Hew Time is available for streaming!!






“I heard Max Roach’s M’Boom 14 years ago and I’ve wanted to make my own version with drummers I love ever since. Dale, Coady and I carved out our own compositions built from a combination of drum kits and dozens of percussion instruments. I couldn’t be prouder of the end result. Thank you for the inspiration Mr. Max Roach. It’s Hew Time!”– Joe Plummer (Modest Mouse, The Shins)

The Details

HEW TIME - Hew Time
Limited Edition Vinyl + Digital : $15.00
(black & gold "A-Side/B-Side" vinyl, limited to 500 hand-numbered copies)

ships on or before 03/25/2014

Catalog #: JNR134
Release Date: 03/25/2014

1. 2020 Is Yours!
2. Koopolder
3. Nine Pan Alley
4. Swung
5. Bell Door
6. Swimming Pool (Hidalgo Blues)
7. Tanguy
8. Bell Window
9. Sonny Bambo
10. Cave Rage

Price $15

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive