RIYL: The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Wild Nothing, Girls, Elkland

Label: Anti-

Before The Drums, there was Elkland, one of the aughts’ finest bleeding heart synth pop groups. ¬†While their stint in the spotlight was short-lived, they wooed a significant amount of listeners into their world, carving out a proper niche in the indie music landscape for¬†their ‘lovesick loverboy’ ethos. ¬†Frontman¬†Jonathan Pierce took the melancholy lyrical prose of Morrissey and the warm¬†synth techniques¬†of Depeche Mode and found his voice, a style that he continues to add on¬†with his follow-up band The Drums.

Now on their 4th full-length since they began in 2010, The Drums ditched the synth-heavy leads, opting for a balance between brooding post-punk¬†and shimmery surf pop. ¬†It still bleeds with heartache, but it’s got a glistening¬†guitar sheen and a driving bass groove to dry their tears. ¬†Check out first single Blood Under My Belt below and grab a copy of the album on orange wax after the ‘buy’ link.

The Details

The Drums ‚Äď Abysmal Thoughts 2xLP (Opaque Orange ‚Äď Limited to 1200)
This item is a pre-order item with an intended release date of June 16th, 2017.

Additional Images

Price $21.99

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive