RIYL: The Falcon Five, Tu Fawning, Mi Ami

Label: Altin Village & Mine

After a five year break between records, PTTRNS has returned with their third studio album Material und Geschuchte co-produced by Andreas Spechtl. The spirit of the band lives on from their previous work while conceptually and lyrically advancing toward newer and boarder soundscapes. The results prove to be profound, stating that they are free of ‘music’ and contemplating larger themes within their work. The group has progressed passed the tradition ‘indie’ sound into the realm of self-realization and mature outlines of a prevalent futurity.

These are the words of AV&M:

First, as the time of the performance—a time of the present that becomes indistinguishable from the future. This time of the event is marked in the physicality that has featured prominently on the band’s last efforts and has always made for their famously infectious live appearances: the jam-like, funky quality of their sound. Secondly, time is introduced as a time of repetition: an excessive time that itself comes from the future and, in its exceeding the material present, folds it back to its origin. This repetition, presented with equal attention to form and expressivity, invokes a tradition that has, somewhat unfortunately, been identified as »Krautrock.« Thirdly, time features on »Material und Geschichte« as a technological countertime, or Contretemps, as registered in a song title: This is the time of the producers’ intervention, the dub, which opens up in the record’s most free moments and, calling attention to the materiality of the record itself, marks the temporal suspension of the listener that always also is a possibility for action.

Lyrically, the collective that is PTTRNS speaks in a communal voice. Connecting to their previous work, which focused on the possibilities of individual instances of sense-making, »Material und Geschichte« frames these instances as ways of relating, as the presents of a future solidarity. This is mirrored in the production values of the record, which, as is usual for the band, is a communal effort. The record boasts a cast of notable collaborators in Rabea Erradi (Die Heiterkeit, Sleep) on saxophone, Sonja Deffner (Jason & Theodor, Die Heiterkeit) on clarinet and vocals, and Andreas Spechtl on vocals and guitar; the artwork is designed by longtime friends Our Polite Society. The result is the document of an everfuture collective: an album of free music, and the most mature and profound statement yet of a unique group.

Thank you Jim Kuhnel from AV&M for the pressing amount!

The Details

[Note: This is a pre-order. All items will be shipped by March 28th, 2018.]

Release Date: March 30, 2018
Catalog Number: AVM 065
Format: LP/Digital

Recorded by Andreas Spechtl. Produced by Andreas Spechtl and PTTRNS. Mixed by Andreas Spechtl and Ramin Bijan at Stu Stu Studiolein, Berlin. Mastered by Cem Oral at Jammin Mastering, Berlin. A Studios für Erwachsenenbildung production. Clarinet and additional vocals by Sonja Deffner. Saxophone by Rabea Erradi. Additional guitar and vocals by Andreas Spechtl. Sleeve design by Our Polite Society, Amsterdam.

Additional Images

Thanks to Jim for the tip!

Price $16.64

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive