Ex-Vivian Girl Katy Goodman’s third release as La Sera pushes her sound deeper into straight up pop-punk territory while keeping the whole effort decidedly happy. Goodman has been quoted as saying her goal was to create a record that sounds like “Black Flag fronted by Leslie Gore”; while the record doesn’t quite accomplish that, Hour of the Dawn is a short (coming in at around 30 minutes) but sweet record definitely worth checking out.

The Details

Hour of the Dawn

01. Losing to the Dark
02. Summer of Love
03. Running Wild
04. Fall in Place
05. All My Love is For You
06. Hour of the Dawn
07. Kiss This Town Away
08. Control
09. 10 Headed Goat Wizard
10. Storm's End

In the summer of 2013, La Sera decamped to a sweltering studio in East Los Angeles with engineer Joel Jerome and banged out the ten songs that would become Hour of the Dawn—an album that never walks, but runs; a collision of unleashed punk and ‘80s power-pop. Hour of the Dawn, as its title suggests, heralds the beginning of a radiant and energetic new chapter in the evolution of La Sera.

Now available! First run of LPs pressed to opaque orange vinyl. Please note, all preorders (and anything ordered with them) won't ship until early May. All LPs include a download code.

Price $14

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive