RIYL: Alvvays, Jeff Rosenstock

Label: Saddle Creek

Yeah.. missed the first pressing. Sorry, i even got the email, but that baby flew off the shelves. And for good reason, this first single is killer good. Lady singers are crushing it right now, one after the next.

Take a listen you’re gonna want a piece of this sexy wax.

The Details

This is a pre-order item. All items ordered alongside a physical pre-order will ship together to arrive on or before the release date, April 6th, 2018. You will receive an instant download of the track How Simple. Full album download available on release date.

Saddle Creek Store Exclusive : Since the 1st pressing of colored vinyl sold out before some of you had a chance to have your morning coffee, we’re making a 2nd pressing of limited edition vinyl exclusive to the Saddle Creek Store.
- 2nd pressing: Limited edition of 750 tri-color striped vinyl (alternate color). Limit 2 per customer.
- 1st pressing: Limited edition of 500 tri-color striped vinyl. Limit 2 per customer. SOLD OUT

Indie Store Exclusive: Limited edition of 700 translucent yellow-orange vinyl, available to all participating independent record stores on April 6th, 2018


Gatefold Jacket
Includes download card
April 6th marks the release of Hop Along's third studio record, Bark Your Head Off, Dog. Written over the course of 2016 and 2017 and recorded in the summer of the latter year by Frances Quinlan (songwriter/vocalist/rhythm guitar), Tyler Long (bass), Joe Reinhart (guitar), and Mark Quinlan (drums), the album addresses disappointment, particularly in man's misuse of power, and relates accounts from the periphery -- one's attempts to retreat from the lengthening shadows of tyrants, both historical and everyday. It considers what it’s like to cast off longheld and misguided perceptions, yet without the assurance of knowing what new ones will replace them. Much like on Hop Along’s first and second records, Get Disowned and Painted Shut, Quinlan seeks in real time to work through these issues.

Throughout the album, one gets the sense that Quinlan is wandering in the thicket of a forest—a state of being that will feel familiar to longtime listeners—and on this outing, she hasn’t left a trail of breadcrumbs behind her. The album’s artwork, which Quinlan painted herself, invites the listener into that forest, as well. “There is a terror in getting lost,” she says, “the woods are at the same time beautiful and horrifying.” This curious wandering gives the album, both lyrically and musically, a heightened dimensionality.

Bark Your Head Off, Dog is, without question, Hop Along’s most dynamic and textured record yet. Self-produced and recorded at The Headroom in Philadelphia by Reinhart and Kyle Pulley, Bark Your Head Off, Dog features the familiar sounds that have always made the band allergic to genre: grunge, folk, punk, and power pop all appear, with inspiration from ELO to Elvis Costello to ‘70s girl group vocal arrangements. This time around, they’ve added strings, more intricate rhythms, lush harmonies (featuring Thin Lips’ Chrissy Tashjian), along with a momentary visit with a vocoder. In more than one place, Mark Quinlan drums like he’s at a disco with Built to Spill.

Most significantly, Bark Your Head Off, Dog shows the band at its strongest and most cohesive. Hop Along (which originally began as Quinlan’s solo project under the moniker Hop Along, Queen Ansleis) has never sounded so deliberate, so balanced. “So strange to be shaped by such strange men” is a line that repeats on more than one song on the album. “I’ve been thinking about that a lot. That I just deferred to men throughout my life,” Quinlan says. “But by thinking you’re powerless, you’re really robbing yourself. I’m at a point in my life where I’m saying instead, ‘Well, what can I do?’”

Release Date: April 6th, 2018

1. How Simple
2. Somewhere a Judge
3. How You Got Your Limp
4. Not Abel
5. The Fox in Motion
6. One That Suits Me
7. What the Writer Meant
8. Look of Love
9. Prior Things

Price $22

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive