It’s been a long, long time since a lo-fi recording has hit me as powerfully as Frog’s Kind of Blah. Don’t let the name fool you either, because it’s certainly not “blah.” It’s tough to even begin speaking about this album because it sort of, well, subtly steals the words out of my mouth by taking my breath completely away. On first listen, I didn’t even notice the thirty six minutes of this album pass by. It grabbed me and pulled me right on into it’s raw, catchy atmosphere.

Call it an immense exploration into the minimalism of what a record can be. Or better yet, call it perfect for all of it’s gorgeous imperfections.

This is Frog, and they’re not Kind of Blah.

frog1 frog2 frog3 frog4 frog5

“Here, Frog has crafted something truly different, uniquely flawed, and indisputably special. And that’s kind of awesome.” –Sputnik Music


“A frenzy of fast guitar licks and off-kilter vocals, but it all comes together to form an impressive force.” –MAGNET Magazine


“A safer bet there’s never been – this record is essential.” –GoldFlakePaint


“Utterly brilliant…they make you nostaglic for memories you never had and take you back to places you’ve never before been.” –London In Stereo


“Anyone who’s heard even the tiniest excerpt from Kind of Blah will attest that, however they came to it, they’ve found a spark of magic from somewhere.” –Crackle Feedback


The Details

Kind of Blah by Frog

Includes unlimited streaming of Kind of Blah via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
ships out within 7 days
£10 GBP

1. All Dogs Go to Heaven 03:19 video
2. Fucking 03:00
3. Wish Upon a Bar 02:58
4. Photograph 03:26
5. Everything 2002 02:22
6. Knocking on the Door 03:02
7. King Kong 02:47
8. Catchyalater 04:04
9. Irish Goodbye 02:36
10. Judy Garland (free) 03:37
11. Bad Boy (Kind of Blah) 05:02

"Kind of Blah" is the stunning debut LP from Frog, the two person guitar band from Queens, New York. 11.5 songs recorded in a non-functioning bowling alley under a cafe in Astoria. As Dan Bateman writes on the LP sleeve, the album “was an attempt to engage modern musical ideas from a 1950s style of arrangement, and a was a complete failure in that respect but a success in most others.”

‘Kind of Blah’ doesn’t sound like it was recorded in the Columbia studios on 30th Street or like it was produced by Irving Townsend, nor do the songs sound like they were written to be performed at Carnegie Hall. But the spirit of NYC past and present lives in Frog, in this unknown guitar duo from Queens. It’s an album full of sounds and stories, of lives lived and not lived, and it’s every bit as compelling as that sounds.

"All Dogs Go to Heaven" video -

"A bit of a masterpiece." - 7BitArcade

"Oh, god. Help me, words. Help me convey what a blessing Frog is." - Collapse Board

"A solid reason for Frog to be your new favourite band." - Shout4Music

"A perfectly melancholy subway ride..." - IMPOSE

"Love this." - Huw Stephens (BBC Radio 1)

"Dreamy Americana soundscapes...Despite sounding ever-so-slightly menacing at points, it's deliciously sweet for the most part." - The Line of Best Fit

"Makes me grin so hard I think my face may actually split into two separate parts." - The 405

"Have you spent any of your time listening to Frog? No? Then prepare yourself for something quite special, something you’ll rush to share with your friends, hoping to be the coolest kid on the block..." - Austin Town Hall

"Peek through a smeared window at an innocent and imaginary New York...the entire set feels like it exists outside of time...feels like a constant, noisy dawn..." - Clicky Clicky Music Blog

"Recorded under a derelict bowling alley, the album really does suck you into the New York that Frog know…‘I’m an adventurer’ is a line from the album and it’s a hell of a journey to join Frog on. An album that will have you an emotional mess at one moment and hopping for joy at the next…" - Spectral Nights

"Kind of Blah is America." - Wake the Deaf

released 25 May 2015

Artwork by Benjamin Shaw -
Mastered for both vinyl and digital by Alex DeTurk ( with additional work by Gabe Liberti

Price $15

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive