RIYL: Pedro the Lion, Headphones, TW Walsh

Label: Suicide Squeeze Records

Limited to 2000 Vinyl LPs
Blue w/ White Snow Flakes

“There is something that is underrepresented in Christmas music, and that’s just how uncomfortable the holidays can be for a lot of folks,” David Bazan says about his collection of holiday songs Dark Sacred Night. Back in 2002, David Dickenson of Suicide Squeeze Records approached Bazan and asked if he would be interested in doing a 7” of Christmas carols. The result was the “I Heard The Bells On Christmas Day” b/w “Oh Come, Oh Come Emmanuel” single released under Bazan’s Pedro the Lion moniker. He followed it up with “The First Noel” 7” in 2003 and “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” in 2005. Even after retiring the Pedro The Lion project, Bazan continued his run of Yuletide singles for Suicide Squeeze under his own name. These limited edition 7”s are all long out of print, but David Bazan and Suicide Squeeze have chosen ten of the fourteen tracks, remixed and remastered the material, and collected them on Dark Sacred Night.

– Suicide Squeeze Records

The Details

First 150 pre-order customers (regardless of format) will receive a folded 11x17 poster

01 “All I Want For Christmas”
02 “Happy Xmas (War Is Over)”
03 “Away In A Manger”
04 “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”
05 “I Heard The Bells On Christmas Day”
06 “Jingle Bells”
07 “Silent Night”
08 “Long Way Around The Sea”
09 “O Little Town Of Bethlehem”
10 “Wish My Kids Were Here”

Additional Images

Price $19

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive