RIYL: Julia Jacklin, Weyes Blood, The Wild Reeds, Coco Hames, Warpaint

Label: Saddle Creek Records

Big Thief is back with Capacity. After their first release, Masterpiece, they are delicately putting out an album that is peaceful, like a quiet walk alone with the occasional wolf attack. But I digress, the singles are catchy, the music isn’t pretentious and the songs are simple yet well thought out. There are two limited edition version available below:

Saddle Creek has a little blurb about it:

The trails that Brooklyn’s Big Thief — Adrianne Lenker (guitar, vocals), Buck Meek (guitar), Max Oleartchik (bass), and James Krivchenia (drums) — take us down on Capacity, the band’s highly anticipated second record out 6/9 on Saddle Creek, are overgrown with the wilderness of pumping souls.

After last year’s stunning Masterpiece, Capacity was recorded in a snowy winter nest in upstate New York at Outlier Studio with producer Andrew Sarlo. The album jumps right into lives marked up and nipped in surprisingly swift fashion. They are peopled and unpeopled, spooked and soothed, regenerating back into a state where they can once again be vulnerable. Lenker’s songs introduce us to a gallery of multifaceted women and deal with the complicated matters of identity — at once dangerous and curious, though never unbelievable. Lenker shows us the gentle side of being ripped open. Tricked into love, done in and then witnessing the second act of pulling oneself back together to prepare for it to all happen again, but this time to a sturdier soul, one who is going to take the punches better than ever before and deal some jabs and roundhouses of their own.

The album is thick with raw, un-doctored beauty: most of the songs on Capacity were played for the rest time in the studio and were recorded the same day. “There is a darker darkness and a lighter light on this album,” Lenker explains. “The songs search for a deeper level of self-acceptance, to embrace the world within and without. I think Masterpiece began that process, as a reaction from inside the pain, whereas I feel Capacity examines the pain from the outside.”

The Details

Gold Vinyl
- Saddle Creek Store Exclusive
- Limited Edition of 500
- 300 bundled with Saddle Creek Store Exclusive translucent yellow Mythological Beauty 7" SOLD OUT
- 200 available separately

* Indie Exclusive pressing of Capacity (500 copies on white vinyl) available in participating stores June 9th.

All LPs include download card & feature gatefold packaging. You will receive a download of the track, "Mythological Beauty", with your pre-order. The full album download will be available on 6/9/2017.

Additional Images

Price $22

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive