RIYL: ScHoolboy Q, Earl Sweatshirt

Label: Universal Music Group

The title and cover of Vince Staples new EP show that the young artist is well aware of where his career is at, but rather than showboat and revel in his successes, he’s one to call himself out, questioning his celebrity status and it’s importance, and if it even is important relative to what’s going on in Black neighborhoods in America. On the title track, featuring A$AP Rocky, they repeatedly ask “is it real?”—comparing against the very “real” world Staples was brought up in as a gang member in Long Beach.

Following his highly-regarded debut LP, Summertime ’06, Staples goes a shade darker on Prima Donna, holding onto the ominous tones from ’06 and letting go of some of the schoolyard double-dutch beats (“Pimp Hand” is an exception). One thing that remains fully intact is Staples’ ability to writes personally, yet objectively, avoiding—for the most part—glorifying or vilifying rap-lifestyle or gang-lifestyle, only speaking matter-of-factly from his own experience. The infectiously hard tracks are interspersed with vulnerable voice recordings that sound like they were taken lying in bed at 2 a.m., providing an even deeper glimpse into Staples’s reality.

It’s nice to see a well-established hip-hop artist & his label keep the wax collectors in mind when they certainly don’t need to in order to turn a profit. Following suit of Kendrick’s untitled unmastered., Prima Donna will get a fairly large limited run signed by the artist, as well as individually numbered. Looks like the physical record will take quite some time to manufacture and ship, but digital files should arrive right away since the EP officially debuted on August 25!

The Details

Limited Edition White 10” Vinyl
Only 5,000 Signed & Individually Numbered Copies

Prima Donna Tracklisting:
1. Let It Shine
2. War Ready
3. Smile
4. Loco feat. Kilo Kish
5. Prima Donna feat. A$AP Rocky
6. Pimp Hand
7. Big Time

Purchase includes a digital download of EP for US customers only on 8/25.

Physical product is expected to ship 10-12 weeks after order date.

Price $21.98

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive