Teebs is the musical brain child of Los Angeles, California artist Mtendere Mandowa. Known for his luscious, abstract yet tranquil quality, Teebs brings a fresh mix of avant-garde bred beats to the forefront of contemporary hip-hop. Mandowa’s songs result sound both egoless and effortless, free from the negative noise that dominates hip-hop culture.
Once, cut from the same cloth as Flying Lotus, Teebs has gained a cult following of his own. AV – EST Outtakes is a revisitation of some never before released tunes, with some tracks re-worked. This album is an escape into a temple of calm. Teeb’s ethereal beats are released in collaboration with Hit+Run & My Hollow Drum. Get your hands on one of only 350 produced red vinyl LP’s or settle for a classic ‘heavy’ black which is out of 400.

Listen to Sachi Chords for a taste
Sachi Chords – video by Miko Revereza

Watch Teebs from his Live Set at Boiler Room presented by the lovely Sofie

teebs-cover-finalteebs-backcover teebs-blackset

The Details

This new twelve song vinyl-only album by TEEBS (in collaboration with My Hollow Drum) represents a collection of ideas from 2014-2015 that was previously spread out between his works both in the visual world and through music label Brainfeeder.

"AV - ESTR OUTTAKES/REMIXES" [HNR49] contains music heretofore released only on cassette format in 2014, plus new songs recorded circa creation of his "ESTARA" album, and three remixes that came about organically during that time from Co.fee, Odd Nosdam & Hominidæ. The album serves as a recap of two of TEEBS most extensive projects to date in the form of unreleased or virtually unheard music.

Only a strict 750qty 12" vinyl records will be available for sale (no digital format will be released), with 400qty of classic heavy black wax, plus another 350qty pressed on striking red translucent vinyl. Each album is housed in a black dust sleeve inside a hand-screenprinted cardboard record jacket, featuring new art by TEEBS.

Small quantities of one-of-a-kind painted covers, as well as bundle packs featuring collectible items & more will also be available exclusively through TEEBS personal website.

A1. I'm on a beach
A2. Decades (ft. Yuk)
A3. Grxxxvs (ft. Sofie Fatoubetchi)
A4. The Yellow Cover (ft. Ages)
A5. S P C D / There's a watermelon in my pocket
A6. Sachi's Chords

B1. SOTM (sans drums)
B2. Gratitude
B3. Gratitude (Co.fee Remix)
B4. Red Curbs Loop (Hominidæ Remix)
B5. Window Chimes (Nosdam's Remix)
B6. 5 Count Finale

running time: 38 minutes

Thanks to Brandy from Hit and Run for the tip!

Price $17

Teebs - Overgrown from miko revereza on Vimeo.

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive