RIYL: Kanye West, Chance the Rapper, Digable Planets

Label: Top Dawg entertainment

Last Thursday night I was home alone because my wife’s band was on the road. I think around 8:30 I read a Stereogum article that stated that Spotify had put up an image, tracklist and album title for a new Kendrick Lamar album. About a half an hour later it was up on iTunes and I was downloading it. I listened to it straight through and then I started over again one it was over. It’s been constant in my headphones since.

These tracks are outtakes from the To Pimp a Butterfly sessions. That album took several years to complete. This doesn’t sound like an album of cast off tracks and B sides however. It feels cohesive, and intimate, and full of notes of jazz and soul. It’s short but sweet. Kendrick is on fire right now. He can do no wrong.

I jumped at the chance to purchase an autographed copy of the new record. If you like hip hop, if you like Kendrick Lamar then this record is for you.

The Details

Please note: Vinyl project will ship on or around May 27, 2016

Project will be hand-signed and autographed by Kendrick!

Track List:
1. untitled 01 | 08.19.2014.
2. untitled 02 | 06.23.2014.
3. untitled 03 | 05.28.2013.
4. untitled 04 | 08.14.2014.
5. untitled 05 | 09.21.2014.
6. untitled 06 | 06.30.2014.
7. untitled 07 | 2014 - 2016
8. untitled 08 | 09.06.2014.

Price $25.98

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive