Fans of Profound Lore Records and Flenser Records already know the vast amount of incredible metal albums these two labels put out.  Just to name a few for the uninformed, Pallbearer, Deafheaven, Leviathan, The Atlas Moth and Vaura.

First-run vinyl for these bands comes and goes quicker than most music blogs can even post about, but a handful of Vaura’s most recent album ‘The Missing’ are still available.  The album was released in 2013, but didn’t get a vinyl release until quite a few months later.

Vaura make experimental and boundary-pushing metal.  Consider them a gateway drug into the vast cavern of metal and all its subgenres.  If you don’t have a metal section on the vinyl shelf, give this a listen…and think fast about the wax.  These won’t last very much longer.

The Details

Double Lp edition 500 copies.
300 copies on black vinyl.
200 copies on - Cyan haze on Kelly green.
Comes with a 24"x24" double sided poster and a gatefold jacket. Artwork by Terence Hannum.

The sophomore album from Brooklyn New York’s Vaura, The Missing, is finally available on vinyl from The Flenser. Vaura has perfected a cohesive sound out of a mixture of vastly different genres including, ’80’s goth, black metal, and progressive rock.

Vaura is an all-star cast of Brooklyn avant grade and metal musicians, featuring Joshua Strawn (Azar Swan) on vocals, Kevin Hufnagel (Gorguts, Dysthymia), drummer Charlie Schmid, and avant-grade cult superstar Toby Driver on bass (Secret Chiefs 3, Kayo Dot, Maudlin of the Well). Despite the often complex musicality of the members other projects, Vaura’s sound is more streamlined with atmospheric mid-80’s vocals mixed with a hypnotic rhythm section intersected with black metal blast beats, chorus-laden guitars, and synthy overtones.

The Missing was originally issued on CD by Profound Lore Records to great critical acclaim appearing on many year end lists. Vaura’s debut album, Selenelion was released by New York's Weird Records in 2012.

Price $27

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive