Label: The Mylene Sheath

Note: Red/Grey Swirl w/Black Splatter are already sold out, and Clear Vinyl w/Red, Yellow and Orange Splatter are running low.

The Mylene Sheath have done it yet again with pressing some beautiful wax for Heiress upcoming album, Made Wrong, which will be released on March 18th 2016. Recorded by none other than Matt Bayles, this Seattle band brings forth some heavy tones and brutal vocals from former members of Himsa, Undertow, Jough Dawn Baker and Sharks Keep Moving. This Beast is hard to classify due Heiress mixture of sound arranging from doom, post-metal, post-rock, and hardcore.

Heiress-Made Wrong is sure to sell out fast, so do yourselves all a favor and snag one while you can.



The Details

This thing is an straight-up beast, or as Decibel Magazine puts it, "absolutely enraged". It's an album that is impossible to classify in simple terms, there's no genre or sub-genre that sums it up easily. And that is one of the things that makes it so great, along with the suffocating, emotional intensity and killer production, this is certainly the new high-water mark in the Heiress catalog.

As far as LP packaging, you guys know how Heiress & Sheath do. On this sexy thang we opted for gatefold jackets with a matte lamination. Then spot gloss on the front and back covers, as well as inner panels. Here's pressing info:

- 25 Hand Numbered Test Presses w/Hand Painted Covers

- 103 Grey/Red Swirl w/Black Splatter

- 108 Clear Vinyl w/Red, Yellow, and Orange Splatter

- 320 Grey w/Black Center

- 500 CDs

"Following their critically acclaimed full lengths Early Frost (2013, Deathwish Inc.) and Of Great Sorrow (2015, The Mylene Sheath), Seattle, WA's Heiress land the knockout blow with highly anticipated follow-up, Made Wrong. The album consists of 7 jarring tracks that are all at once their most explorative, experimental, and intense yet. Vocalist John Pettibone (former Himsa & Undertow frontman) sounds more maniacal than ever, offering up his trademark, madman intensity in fine form throughout the maelstrom. The bands sound has become even harder to classify, mixing elements of hardcore, metal, post-metal, post-rock and doom into a vehement cocktail of tension and release.

For those uninitiated, Heiress is an American rock band from Seattle, WA featuring former members of Himsa, Undertow, Jough Dawn Baker and Sharks Keep Moving. They formed in Seattle, WA in 2006 originally with vocalist Adam Paysse, the co-founder of Rome Plow Records. Then in December 2008 Pettibone took over Paysse's place as lead vocalist. With this lineup, Heiress recorded a five-song self-titled EP and self-released it in 2009. Soon after, in 2010, the band signed to Deathwish Inc., an independent hardcore record label that was co-founded by Jacob Bannon of Converge. The group's first release through the label was a split 7" with Narrows. In mid-2011, legendary producer Jack Endino (Nirvana, Mudhoney, Soundgraden) produced and engineered new Heiress tracks at Soundhouse Studios. Endino also remixed two previously recorded Heiress songs which were released as the Naysayer EP in 2012. The single featured artwork by Demian Johnston, who previously played with Pettibone in Undertow and Nineironspitfire, and was positively received by Alternative Press (4/5). Ten of the remaining tracks from this session became Heiress' full-length debut album titled Early Frost, released by Deathwish Inc. in early 2013 and received an 8/10 rating from Decibel Magazine.

The band then signed with The Mylene Sheath, and on February 10th, 2015, released their sophomore full length Of Great Sorrow, recorded with Tad Doyle at Witch Ape Studio (YOB, Lesbian, TAD). The album was mastered by Chris Hanzsek (Soundgarden, Melvins, Screaming Trees) with artwork once again handled by Demian Johnston. The vinyl quickly sold out during the pre-order for the album and the band went on to play a series of shows with XTRMST, a side project of AFI's Davey Havok & Jade Puget. The album was well received by press outlets such as Noisey and Decibel Magazine. Metal Sucks went on to say "Of Great Sorrow is the kind of record for which the use of the verb "crushing" as an adjective was invented". Even as the album was being released and promoted, the band was hard at work on its eventual follow-up, and their third full length, which brings us to the present.

Heiress now unleash "Made Wrong". Recorded with iconic producer Matt Bayles (Mastodon, ISIS, Botch, Pearl Jam), and once again mastered by Chris Hanzsek, the album showcases a progression into darker, more experimental tendencies, while somehow managing to be heavier than anything the band has done to date. Artwork this time around was handled by Chet and Rachel Scott for Glass Throat Visions (who also did the artwork for Early Frost), and is scheduled for a March 18th, 2016 release date, once again through The Mylene Sheath."

Thanks to Boris for the tip!

Price $17.99

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive