Back in 2012, Deathwish Inc. released the first full length release from Heiress entitled Early Frost. Here we are in 2015 and the first release for The Mylene Sheath’s year is Heiress’ sophomore endeavor, Of Great Sorrow. Now, for those of you who are more familiar with The Mylene Sheath releases that we’ve posted on here being more along the instrumental/post-rock lines of Caspian or Jakob… be advised, this is a different taste than what you’ll find released by either of those bands. What doesn’t change, is the absolutely gorgeous pressing variations that The Mylene Sheath always manages to muster up!

With the reception of this album coming along so well, 2 of the 3 variants have already disappeared! Having only been live for a day or so, this isn’t too unexpected as pretty much everything this label puts out disappears quickly!! If you’re interested in this one… be sure to grab it before they’re all gone!!

Stay tuned for even more to come from The Mylene Sheath in 2015… to include represses of OOP albums and some altogether new ones as well!


“all of this seething atmosphere and separation is a clever (and, at times, straight-up lovely) prelude to the sonic haymaker Heiress eagerly throw anytime a listener drops his or her metaphorical hands a bit… 8/10” — Decibel Magazine


“‘Hover’ captures the band, rooted in hardcore, expanding their palette into a brooding and building epic with touches of doom, post-rock and more. You gotta hear it.” — Noisey

The Details

Heiress - Of Great Sorrow LP
The sophomore LP from Seattle, WA's Heiress. The packaging is straight up ridiculous. Artwork design & layout by Demian Johnston, the heavy, 20pt stock jackets have a metallic, brassy 5th color that pops. They look so good, no bullshittin'. Vinyl colors came out great as well. And the tunes crush, duh. All the details can be found below...

1. Of Great Sorrow
2. Dehumaned
3. Held
4. Blading
5. Dismalist
6. Old Haunts
7. Hover
8. Lashings
9. Silent Hooves
10. Just Two Figures

Pressing Info:
- 25 test presses w/spray-painted jackets (hand-numbered)
- 100 Clear Vinyl w/Grey Center & Gold Splatter
- 100 Translucent Pilsner Vinyl w/Gold Center
- 300 Gold/Silver Swirl

"Following their critically acclaimed debut full length Early Frost (2013, Deathwish Inc.), Seattle, WA’s Heiress is now prepared to unleash their chilling sophomore effort, Of Great Sorrow. The album contains 10 crushing tracks that grab you by the throat and squeeze for 44 jarring minutes.

For those uninitiated, Heiress is an American rock band from Seattle, WA featuring former members of Himsa, Undertow, Jough Dawn Baker and Shift. The group performs a cathartic blend of hardcore punk and atmospheric post-metal. They formed in Seattle, WA in 2006 originally with vocalist Adam Paysse, the co-founder of Rome Plow Records. Then in December 2008 John Pettibone, formerly of many Seattle-area bands including Himsa and Undertow, took over Paysse’s place as lead vocalist. With this lineup, Heiress recorded a five-song self-titled EP and self-released it in 2009. Soon after, in 2010, the band signed to Deathwish Inc., an independent hardcore record label that was co-founded by Jacob Bannon of Converge. The group’s first release through the label was a split 7" with Narrows. In mid-2011, legendary producer Jack Endino (Nirvana, Mudhoney, Soundgraden) produced and engineered new Heiress tracks at Soundhouse Studios. Endino also remixed two previously recorded Heiress songs which were released as the Naysayer EP in 2012. The single featured artwork by Demian Johnston, who previously played with Pettibone in Undertow and Nineironspitfire, and was positively received by Alternative Press (4/5). Ten of the remaining tracks from this session became Heiress’ full-length debut album titled Early Frost, released by Deathwish Inc. in early 2013 and received an 8/10 rating from Decibel Magazine.

That brings us to the present tense and their bone-shattering new full length, Of Great Sorrow, which was recorded with Tad Doyle at Witch Ape Studio (YOB, Lesbian, TAD) and set for release on November 18th via The Mylene Sheath (Pelican, Caspian, Junius). The album was mastered by Chris Hanzsek (Soundgarden, Melvins, Screaming Trees) with artwork once again handled by Demian Johnston. Never content standing still, the band is already tracking a third album with producer Matt Bayles, set for release in 2015, even as the world may not be done absorbing the sonic explosion of Of Great Sorrow for years to come. The time of Heiress is now, and they’re going for the throat."

Limited toTest Press: 25 | Clear/Grey w/splatter: 100 | Pilsner/Gold: 100 | Gold/Grey Swirl: 300Vinyl Packaging20pt stock jackets w/metallic 5th spot colorVinyl ManufacturerPirates Press / GZArtwork DesignDemian Johnston

Price $14.99

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive