RIYL: Swan Lake, Destroyer, Moonface

Label: Paper Bag Records


More like sad eyes. It looks like Frog Eyes is going out the same way they came in, with a stripped down LP, their final album together. If you get a chance, head over to Paper Bag Records to snag the white vinyl that is numbered as well.

17 years after their teetering debut, the Vancouver band unveils Violet Psalms – a giddy lament; a gnashing jubilee; a rain-drenched allocution on hope vs. horror, paradise vs. pride, Marx and Brexit and bad acid trips.

No guests, no engineers. A self-invention. Violet Psalms began with its frantic, reverb-drenched guitar, squiggling over a modulation pedal. Next Mercer and Campbell concoted the drum parts — imagining them an onomatopoeia then recording them in fragments, kickdrum by kickdrum, tom by tom, with tailored effects. “The goal was to disorientate,” Mercer explains, but also to work by instinct, gut — a cut-up of music and image, songs that coil back and kiss. The band pruned as they went, adding Terri Upton’s bass parts, taking other parts away. Whereas past LPs used piano, Shyla Seller worked with shimmering synths – chords like bleeding watercolour, shadows casting on a wall.

The Details

The eighth and final album from Frog Eyes, out May 18, 2018! Pre-order the limited edition, numbered white vinyl.

Additional Images

Price $19.8

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive