UPDATE: Just stumbled across an acoustic version of the opening, eponymous track I Love You, Honeybear. It’s now available down below!


If you ever took the the time back in 2012 to adventure into Fear Fun, the debut release from FJM, then you’re probably just as intensely excited about this news as I am! From it’s release in 2012, through 2013, and even up ’til now… I haven’t been able to put this record to the side. It was/is just too good.

Josh Tillman’s latest endeavor, I Love You, Honeybear, has been announced as the follow-up to 2012’s Fear Fun. With 2013 seeing the artist as more of a recluse with an array of one-off shows, many of us were wondering what he was up to. Certainly, the hopes were that he was accomplishing a new record… and here we are!

If you’ve never heard of Father John Misty, or even Josh Tillman, it may be worth mentioning that he was formerly the drummer of Fleet Foxes and also has a back catalog of singer/songwriter releases under J. Tillman. ALL worth your time.

This particular release is an interesting one as a Sub Pop pre-order. Rather than releasing this in the typical manner (early bird/loser edition), they’ve opened this up as a Deluxe ($41) or Standard ($18) edition for purchase. The Deluxe version comes as a limited-edition tricolor 2xLP (we’re still not sure of the colors) and is housed in a Dioramic, Meta-Musical Funtime gatefold jacket with alternate cover artwork.

I don’t know about you, but I’m damn excited to venture even further into the world of Josh Tillman and Father John Misty. Let’s get lost.

Down below you can catch a LOT of details about this release as well as a live performance of his latest single, Bored in the USA, performed live on the Late Show w/ David Letterman.

The Details

Father John Misty
I Love You, Honeybear
Type: Album
Release Date: February 10, 2015
Catalog No: SP1115
Label: Sub Pop
Deluxe $41
2xLP $18

This is a pre-order item. We will ship this item by February 10, 2015 unless your order includes other pre-order items that ship later. All items in your order will ship together.

All customers who pre-order the limited-edition Deluxe LP version of will receive the album on tricolor vinyl in a Dioramic, Meta-Musical Funtime gatefold jacket with alternate cover artwork.
Orders for the standard LP will be in a gatefold jacket with black vinyl.
CD and LP preorders will come with 8 demos on cassette (while supplies last).
All CD and LP formats will come with a fold-out poster, featuring a collage of Emma Tillman’s intimate photos, designed by Alia Penner and an extensive “Exercises for Listening” written by Josh Tillman
Customers who pre-order I Love You, Honeybear in any format will also receive an instant download of the track, “Bored in the U.S.A.”, as well as a 2nd track before release day, which can be downloaded your SubPop.com account.
“I Love You, Honeybear is a concept album about a guy named Josh Tillman who spends quite a bit of time banging his head against walls, cultivating weak ties with strangers and generally avoiding intimacy at all costs. This all serves to fuel a version of himself that his self-loathing narcissism can deal with. We see him engaging in all manner of regrettable behavior.

“In a parking lot somewhere he meets Emma, who inspires in him a vision of a life wherein being truly seen is not synonymous with shame, but possibly true liberation and sublime, unfettered creativity. These ambitions are initially thwarted as jealousy, self-destruction and other charming human character traits emerge. Josh Tillman confesses as much all throughout.

“The album progresses, sometimes chronologically, sometimes not, between two polarities: the first of which is the belief that the best love can be is finding someone who is miserable in the same way you are and the end point being that love isn’t for anyone who isn’t interested in finding a companion to undertake total transformation with. I won’t give away the ending, but sex, violence, profanity and excavations of the male psyche abound.

“My ambition, aside from making an indulgent, soulful, and epic sound worthy of the subject matter, was to address the sensuality of fear, the terrifying force of love, the unutterable pleasures of true intimacy, and the destruction of emotional and intellectual prisons in my own voice. Blammo.

“This material demanded a new way of being made, and it took a lot of time before the process revealed itself. The massive, deranged shmaltz I heard in my head, and knew had to be the sound of this record, originated a few years ago while Emma and I were hallucinating in Joshua Tree; the same week I wrote the title track. I chased that sound for the entire year and half we were recording. The means by which it was achieved bore a striking resemblance to the travails, abandon and transformation of learning how to love and be loved; see and be seen. There: I said it. Blammo.” -Josh Tillman (A.K.A. Father John Misty)

1. I Love You, Honeybear
2. Chateau Lobby #4 (in C for Two Virgins)
3. True Affection
4. The Night Josh Tillman Came To Our Apartment
5. When You're Smiling And Astride Me
6. Nothing Good Ever Happens At The Goddamn Thirsty Crow
7. Strange Encounter
8. The Ideal Husband
9. Bored In The USA
10. Holy Shit
11. I Went To The Store One Day

Price $41

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive