Christina Carter, as well as being a respectable solo artist, is one half of the experimental duo, which dabbles in folk, drone, and psychedelia, Charalambides. Masque Femine was technically released seven years ago, but only a few months ago did it get itself pressed to limited wax via Jefre Cantu-Ledesma’s Root Strata label. To call Christina Carter’s voice delicate is an understatement. It sounds like she’s at your bedside, singing you to sleep; it’s purely sublime. Masque Femine is the aural representation of transitioning in to a state of hypnagogia as you lie down, beyond exhaustion, after a long day at the office, school or doing something fun with your buddies. To get the full effect of the soothing sweet nothings Carter sings, it’d be best to have some candles burning in an otherwise pitch black room, with some essential oils burning, and to listen to this front to back. Get to it. Listen to Masque Femine below via the Spotify stream and see what you think of it. Cheers!

The Details

Edition of 300
EU Release Date: November 7, 2014
US Release Date: November 11, 2014
1. All Alone
2. Ask Me Now
3. Centerpiece
4. Quiet Nights
5. End Of A Love Affair
6. Blues Are Brewing
7. Honey Moon
8. Just Friends
9. Last Night When We Were Young
10. Looking Back
11. Love Letters In The Sand
12. Memories Of You
13. I Fell In Love Too Easily
14. So Many Stars
15. Some Other Spring
16. Who Wants Love?
17. You Will Be My Music
Masque Femine should be regarded as a total work - much like a film, a ballet, a building, or, an altarpiece - rather than as an album of individual songs. And, its fundamental subject should not be understood to be romantic love.Cut and mastered by Rashad Becker at D&M, Berlin. Distributed by Morr Music.

Price $20

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive