RIYL: Joni Mitchell, Scout Niblett, Sharon Van Etten

Label: Domino

It’s nice to hear about a new Cat Power record after 6 years. There’s only a little video preview available to get a first impression. It seems that the record will be more minimal and going back to her roots, which I think is a good direction. We have no word yet on exactly how limited this variant will be, and it appears to be a Domino records exclusive. There will be a clear transparent version for indie retailers without the 7″ as well.

Produced in its entirety by Marshall, Wanderer includes appearances by longtime friends and compatriots, as well as guest vocals courtesy of friend and recent tour-mate Lana Del Rey. Written and recorded in Miami and Los Angeles over the course of the last few years, this new album is a remarkable return for an iconic American voice.

Wanderer’s 11 tracks encompass “my journey so far,” says Marshall. “The course my life has taken in this journey – going from town to town, with my guitar, telling my tale; with reverence to the people who did this generations before me. Folk singers, blues singers, and everything in between.

They were all wanderers, and I am lucky to be among them.”

The Details

Comes with exclusive clear vinyl 7” featuring “What The World Needs Now”

Includes 24” x 24” fold-out poster and MP3 download card

A1: Wanderer
A2: In Your Face
A3: You Get
A4: Woman (feat. Lana Del Rey)
A5: Horizon

B1: Stay
B2: Black
B3: Robbin Hood
B4: Nothing Really Matters
B5: Me Voy
B6: Wanderer/Exit

A: What The World Needs Now
B: Woman (feat. Lana Del Rey) (Single Version)

Price $25

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive