If you Google the name “Norma Lyon,” you’ll come across a butter sculptor who hails from Iowa. There are many renaissance men/women, but this particular Norma Lyon didn’t have anything to do with butter as far as I know. Back in 1968, Lyon released this record on her own in a limited run of 1000 and hoped the proceeds from the sale would help her pay off the mortgage. Now, what’s crazy to think about is the fact that she was 58 when she released this – meaning she was born in 1910. I’m not sure she’s still with us, but if she’s kicking around at 105 then power to her. When you listen to this, you can’t help but feel like David Lynch somehow got a hold of of one of these copies to help inspire his twisted takes on Americana. The organ creepily wails and drones, while the piano runs and prances around melancholically. Light in the Attic Little Axe are of course behind this. Preview this record by clicking through the EU buy link below and see what you think of it. Cheers!


The Details

A collection of 16 pieces privately released by NORMA LYON in the late 1960s. All are original compositions for piano and organ. Dark, moody and dramatic, each of these “sketches” was inspired by a place Ms. Lyon has lived. The tone of the record is set by its fantastic titles, including “Flight of the Spirit Geese,” “Phantom Cathedral of the Sea” and “Dirge of the Sea Gods.” The first side, “Dune Sketches,” is based on a period when she lived amidst the dunes in southwest Oregon. The second side, “Sea Sketches,” is drawn from the time she spent living with her twin sister overlooking the ocean in Coos Bay.

Price $15

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive