The Tate House recordings for ‘Downward Spiral’, the sick and twisted ‘torture’ VHS tapes, the heroin…Even after 25 years, Nine Inch Nails are still lurking in the dark alleys of American folklore.

Rumors have been circulating around various music forums for well over a decade that some tracks from ‘The Downward Spiral’ were remixed by two of Reznor’s biggest influences, Danny Hyde (Coil) and Peter Christopherson (Coil, Throbbing Gristle).  A piece of their remix for ‘Closer’ was featured in the film ‘SE7EN’, but that’s the most we’ve ever heard…until now.

This is going to be a huge collector’s item and a must-have for fans of Reznor’s work, but it isn’t cheap (curse you, international shipping).  Despite the price tag, these won’t be around for long.

If you have trouble getting onto the site, keep trying.  Cold Spring wasn’t prepared for the onslaught of piggies simultaneously trying to buy a copy.  Don’t worry…take a deep breath.  Doesn’t it make you feel better?


The Details

“Recoiled” is a rambunctious alchemy, of magikal Coil sensibilities and hi-tech home circa 90’s mixing technique, all fused in the cave-like early studios of Danny Hyde (Coil, Electric Sewer Age) / Peter Christopherson (Coil, Throbbing Gristle). These were the unrestrained PRE- BIG studio- mix downs, of four songs which long time Coil admirer / collaborator Trent Reznor requested Coil to remix. Reznor sent over the original multi-tracks and DATs to Hyde / Christopherson, who independently mixed versions and then met to synch both creations, molding them into these master versions. ”Recoiled” includes a fuller, more opulent version of the track ‘Closer’, which eventually made it onto the opening credits to the movie “SE7EN“. These 5 lengthy compositions are pre-Ableton / laptop generation type priest song creations, with the use of baby alarms and numerous wires to create bespoke effects. These legendary tracks were always rumoured to exist and, only the due diligence of a dedicated NIN forum who hunted them down, are released/unleashed for your listening pleasure. 4 of the tracks were released on the download-only “Uncoiled”. A bonus, previously unheard track from the same sessions closes the album. Jhonn Balance is also manifest on this gilded constellation. Beautifully remastered. Brown / Black Splatter vinyl in a heavy glossy sleeve with printed inner sleeve.

Thanks to Ben Young for the tip!

Price $30

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive