RIYL: abstract electronic experimentation


Urals makes Walls’ final effort, supposedly. This is the bookend to a triptych, and Urals, ironically, feels like the beginning to a movie with plenty of camp like The Warriors which… really hasn’t aged well. The eponymous intro track to the album, with plenty of meat to it, feels almost like it would go off in to krautrock space. The second track, “Moon Eye,” digs the album’s feet even deeper in to its late 70s/80s inspirations. “Altai,” Urals‘ third track, gets extremely dubby with its syncopated synthesizers echoing in the vast chambers enclosed within Walls’ aural and rugged fortress. I won’t give you nothing to look forward to, but just know the album is rather cosmic in its execution. You hear space rock, you hear dub, you hear psychedelic rock – you hear numerous seeds of these heady genres scattered throughout the grooves of this lifeless grey. Listen to the Bandcamp stream of Urals below and see what you think of it. Cheers!

The Details

WALLS return with their third and final studio album ‘Urals’

‘Urals’ is the closing part of a three album cycle that began with their self titled debut in 2010, and continued in 2011 with ‘Coracle’

This album is an accumalation of four years of studio exploration, inverting their signature sound into a new, more intense dimension, seeing the duo once again exploring futuristic vistas with their corruscating synth lines, spiralling guitar figures and howling distortion / noise.

Informed by the creation/curation of their burgeoning Ecstatic Recordings imprint that has seen them release music by kindred spirits such as Pye Corner Audio, Axel Wilner (The Field) and L/F/D/M (amongst others) as well as their own individual explorations (Natalizia's caustic minimal synth work outs as NOT WAVING, and Willis's lurid, ritualistic techno as PRIMITIVE WORLD) 'Urals' pushes the envelope a long way from the template they set out with on tracks such as 'Burnt Sienna' or 'Hang Four'

From the stumbling off-kilter groove of the title track, to the probing kosmische pulses of 'Altai' to the intense, ear-shredding acid of 'I Can't Give You Anything But Love, to the sublime synthscape paen 'Radiance', its clear that Willis and Natalizia are taking leave of the WALLS project at the top of their game.

Mastered by Sonic Boom (Spectrum / Spacemen 3) at New Atlantis Studios.

Limited edition of 500 copies on grey vinyl.


01. Urals
02. Moon Eye
03. Altai
04. Voluta
05. Tongue Pad
06. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
07. Radiance

Price $17.43

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive