Progress is a name with near endless utility. It marks the progression in Maya Postepski’s solo career to a sophomore album. It notes the (seemingly) upgraded production coming from Lossless (which is a great album, by the way). Lossless had a mist comprised of clubgoers’ sweat and smoke surrounding the fuzzy samples and synth chimes, while Progress seems to have sharpened the contrast. The (relatively speaking) mild “Sunscream,” the lone track we have available for preview at the moment, seems almost… dare I say, brighter? I mean, there’s a picture of what looks like the ocean on the cover. However, judging from Lossy, I’m not sure “Sunscream” will be par for the course – we may get a grab bag of sorts. I’m eager to see what kind of journey Postepski has cooked up but we have to wait a little more than a month more for this entire thing to drop. Perhaps she’ll drag us in to the bowels of hell, maybe she’ll take us on a nice, slightly gothic, cruise through the Caribbean – your guess is as good as mine. Listen to “Sunscream” below via the SoundCloud stream and see what you think of it. Cheers!

The Details

Maya Postepski never stops. An active member of the Toronto music scene, she has been making music for over 10 years, currently as part of electronic group Austra (Paper Bag, Domino). She is a prolific remix artist, DJ and she co-wrote and produced TRST with Robert Alfons as Trust (Arts & Crafts).

This project is the outlet for her genre-crossing experiments that take us on a journey through minimalist cosmic disco psychedelia, crossing through glacial poly-rhythmic territories soaked in dark dripping goo.

Shooting stars and icicles glimmering weave a reflective thread through each track while mechanical pulses ground soaring delicious keyboards that could melt the heart of a cobra.

Do not be afraid! Close your eyes and allow the warm synthesizer liquid to seep through your veins and take you into a far away galaxy of love, lust and passion.

Track Listing:
1. Bros vs UFOs
2. Sunscream
3. Tokyo Hands
4. Sheughnessy
5. Sunrise 101/Last Disco
6. Rosé
7. Domestic
8. Fata Morgana
9. Metro

Price $16.57

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive